Scared Of Overflowing A Sump!!

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

ChiTownRomeo

Aquarium Advice Freak
Hi I'm a newbie here and love the site!! I have a 46 gallon bow front aquarium and I really want a sump but I am terrified of the thought of it overflowing on my floor. I am on the 3rd floor apartment and don't wanna mess up the floor down stairs. I plan on using a eshopps overflow unit to a aqueon sump sitting under the stand. Is it a myth that they can overflow if the pump fails or the power goes out. I have a sea clear acrylic aquarium and it sucks cause the space is limited cause it only has a few cut outs for stuff. Am I just paranoid? Can someone give me some tips on how not to over flow the water? Also what size power heads should I be using on a 46 gallon bow front with 50 pounds of live rock and 60 pounds of live sand. Thanks!!

Attachments

• IMG008.jpg
    IMG008.jpg
    100.4 KB · Views: 74
Sad but true it is not a myth that they can overflow..it will stop putting out water once the water level is below the output. Someone recommended to me an aqualifer but I have been unable to find anymore info on this. Home depot probably sells a valve for this but I haven't had to look.

I have a tank with the bottom drilled and a durso standpipe system. Also have a sump with a fuge in the middle section and a separate return section. If the return pump fails, the tank will drain to the bottom of the durso pipe opening ( putting about an extra 2 inches of water in the sump). If the drain plugs up, the return pump will pump out the return section of the sump and run dry (burning up the pump, but better than flooding 100 gallons of water on the floor). Either way, the tank remains full and the fish and corals are ok!