Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 06-07-2007, 12:27 AM   #11
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Debary, Florida
Posts: 512
The battery backup is a good idea. How long will one last if it is running only PH's?
__________________

__________________
AndyH5512 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2007, 10:21 AM   #12
AA Team Emeritus
 
roka64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 13,860
Send a message via AIM to roka64 Send a message via Yahoo to roka64
Quote:
Originally Posted by AndyH5512
The battery backup is a good idea. How long will one last if it is running only PH's?
That is going to depend on the Wattage of both the phs and back up.
__________________

__________________
Age is relative, you are only as old as you act....of course, this works in reverse....

Questions loved, heeded advice greatly appreciated!

Vote for AA
Good reading about:
Nitrogen Cycle
Fishless Cycling
Need more help?
Articles
Acronym List

--Scott
roka64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2007, 12:02 PM   #13
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: not here anymore
Posts: 5,338
Quote:
Originally Posted by roka64
Quote:
Originally Posted by AndyH5512
The battery backup is a good idea. How long will one last if it is running only PH's?
That is going to depend on the Wattage of both the phs and back up.
Yup. A real real REAL rough estimate is to find out how many "amp-hours" the battery is rated for. Then take that number, and divide it by the current you're putting through it - in Amps. To get amps, divide the wattage of your load (powerheads) by the voltage of your load (most likely 120V). As an example:

Say you have two powerheads that are rated 12 Watts each.

Total current for the two would be:

2 x 12 Watts = 24 Watts
24 Watts / 120 Volts = 0.2 Amps

Say you have a 4.0 Amp-hour rated battery in your backup. Then, the absolute MOST time you could get would be:

4.0 Amp-hour / 0.2 Amps = 20 hours

Again... this doesn't account for a lot of stuff (like the inverter efficiency, the starting current when things power up, blah blah blah) but it at least gives you an absolute maximum for time to expect. To be safe, I'd cut the number in half so you wouldn't be disappointed.
__________________
Kurt_Nelson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2007, 02:50 PM   #14
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: California
Posts: 512
I found a battery backup system at Costco for around $100.00. It says its designed to be used for computers or home thater systems. Will this work for my tank as well? I only really need to hook it up to my powerheads. I'm assuming it would be fine but just wanted to make sure.

The battery system is like this one (not sure of the exact specs but this is the same brand)

http://www.tripplite.com/products/pr...productID=3195
__________________
two11devan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2007, 04:17 PM   #15
AA Team Emeritus
 
roka64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 13,860
Send a message via AIM to roka64 Send a message via Yahoo to roka64
Personally I would go with a name brand like APC.
__________________
Age is relative, you are only as old as you act....of course, this works in reverse....

Questions loved, heeded advice greatly appreciated!

Vote for AA
Good reading about:
Nitrogen Cycle
Fishless Cycling
Need more help?
Articles
Acronym List

--Scott
roka64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2007, 04:21 PM   #16
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: not here anymore
Posts: 5,338
Since we're talking battery backup, I just need to point out something I've mentioned in other posts before. Don't mean to beat a dead horse, but it's a safety thing, and is probably worth repeating...

If you go with a battery backup, make sure you have a GFCI (ground fault circuit interrupter) on the output side of the UPS. You can get one of those GFCI/extension cord combos that will do the trick.

Reason for this is that even if you have your UPS plugged into a GFCI in your wall, it does no good. Let's say you've got a short in whatever you have plugged into your UPS and you're lighting up your tank with stray voltage. You stick your hand in and *bam* the GFCI in the wall trips out. Great... just like it's supposed to. BUT... now the UPS says "Hey... I don't have power anymore. I better fire up and get those amps flowing again" and *bam* you've got electricity back in your tank again. This all happens quicker than you can blink an eye.

I like the UPS - I have one on my tank. But if you're playing it safe to start with and have everything plugged into GFCI outlets, then don't forget about the possible ramifications of that UPS!
__________________
Kurt_Nelson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2007, 04:22 PM   #17
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: not here anymore
Posts: 5,338
Quote:
Originally Posted by roka64
Personally I would go with a name brand like APC.
Tripp-Lite is definitely a name brand.
__________________
Kurt_Nelson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2007, 04:29 PM   #18
AA Team Emeritus
 
roka64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 13,860
Send a message via AIM to roka64 Send a message via Yahoo to roka64
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kurt_Nelson
Quote:
Originally Posted by roka64
Personally I would go with a name brand like APC.
Tripp-Lite is definitely a name brand.
Ok, thanks for the info. The only ones I ever looked at were the two models they had a Staples, one was APC and I can't remember the other brand.
__________________
Age is relative, you are only as old as you act....of course, this works in reverse....

Questions loved, heeded advice greatly appreciated!

Vote for AA
Good reading about:
Nitrogen Cycle
Fishless Cycling
Need more help?
Articles
Acronym List

--Scott
roka64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2007, 04:48 AM   #19
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Jacksonville,Florida
Posts: 53
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kurt_Nelson
Since we're talking battery backup, I just need to point out something I've mentioned in other posts before. Don't mean to beat a dead horse, but it's a safety thing, and is probably worth repeating...

If you go with a battery backup, make sure you have a GFCI (ground fault circuit interrupter) on the output side of the UPS. You can get one of those GFCI/extension cord combos that will do the trick.

Reason for this is that even if you have your UPS plugged into a GFCI in your wall, it does no good. Let's say you've got a short in whatever you have plugged into your UPS and you're lighting up your tank with stray voltage. You stick your hand in and *bam* the GFCI in the wall trips out. Great... just like it's supposed to. BUT... now the UPS says "Hey... I don't have power anymore. I better fire up and get those amps flowing again" and *bam* you've got electricity back in your tank again. This all happens quicker than you can blink an eye.

I like the UPS - I have one on my tank. But if you're playing it safe to start with and have everything plugged into GFCI outlets, then don't forget about the possible ramifications of that UPS!

Now there`s something I never thought of 8O
Very good point
__________________
Hammer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2007, 03:24 PM   #20
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 327
I believe that one of the more important things to stay on top off is to make sure you have good surface aggitation. Doing so will help maintain o2 levels in the tank. The last power outage we had hear I used a battery powered air pump with some tubing to keep the surface going. But ph's on a battery pack is a great idea too.
__________________

__________________
Squado is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
led, power outage

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Power Outage arclad Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 9 07-06-2006 10:53 PM
Just received scheduled power outage mailing apotocki Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 5 04-14-2005 07:26 PM
Power Outage!!! Utradeshow Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 1 09-10-2004 10:49 AM
POWER BACK UP DURING POWER OUTAGE Saltwater Reef Aquaria 4 08-13-2004 05:52 PM
Scheduled server outage fishfreek Forum Admin & Announcements 0 07-28-2003 05:41 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:54 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.