Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Old 04-07-2004, 05:31 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Apprentice

Seachem additives....which one to get??!

I'm a newbie to saltwater aquariums and have been doing some reading on the net to better inform myself.

I'm on quite a tight budget at the moment (my car died today and needs repairs).. and I was wondering what Seachem products I should get as a bare minimum? I don't have corals and its a fish only tank, but I want to really boost the growth of Corraline algae. I heard Seachem Calcium is good for this? SHould I just get the calcium or other Seachem products?? They have so many and its really confusing me. Which of the following do you guys recommend for somebody with a fish only tank and on a tight budget?

Seachem Reef Builder
Seachem Reef Calcium
Seachem Reef Complete
Seachem Reef Plus

I'm leaning towards getting onlt the Reef Calcium or just the Reef Builder..any thoughts or inputs??

Old 04-07-2004, 05:56 AM   #2
AA Team Emeritus

Quote:
Which of the following do you guys recommend for somebody with a fish only tank and on a tight budget?
None

You should be able to maintain CA and ALK levels adequate for coraline growth with regular water changes with a good salt mix.

Visit Nature Coast Photography
reefrunner69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2004, 07:37 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice Apprentice

Hmm, but I see even people with 10 years experience adding some supplements as its too hard to maintain certain water parameters in a closed environment.

So if ca is low but alk is fine, you suggest doing a water change to fix the problem (and keep changing the water until the paramaeters are right??) Sounds a bit difficult to maintain.. I rather add a supplement to fix that individual deficiency rather than do a water change..