Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 10-09-2002, 08:58 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Dacula, Georgia
Posts: 26
seachem aragonite substrate

I was wondering if anyone had used seachems aragonite substrate,
and if so if it is a pretty good base for putting live sand on top of.
__________________

__________________
GOBY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2002, 09:23 PM   #2
AA Team Emeritus
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Virginia
Posts: 2,256
Send a message via ICQ to fishfreek Send a message via AIM to fishfreek Send a message via MSN to fishfreek Send a message via Yahoo to fishfreek
It looks like this seachem substrate is more of a gravel texture than sand texture.

I dont like mixing gravel size and sand size together as it provides to much room for debris to be trapped.

I would recommend going all sand. Now you dont have to go with 100% live sand. But a mix of live sand and dead sand would work fine.
__________________

__________________
Remember dont tap the glass, your fish will think you're an idiot -Anonymous mother

Check out our articles area. 30+ Aquatic articles for your enjoyment
Are you in or around the Shenandoah Valley area? If so click here to join our regional forum.
fishfreek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2002, 10:44 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Dacula, Georgia
Posts: 26
seachem aragonite substrate

Thank you for your response.
I was wondering how the seachem compared to the caribsea reef sand.
Also how deep of a bed do you recommend for a mainly fish only
setup with live sand and some live rock. I am on a budget so I was
wondering if I added some coral base rock along with some live rock
how quickly the bacterial colonies would take over the base rock as to be
beneficial like only using live rock.
__________________
GOBY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2002, 11:06 PM   #4
AA Team Emeritus
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Virginia
Posts: 2,256
Send a message via ICQ to fishfreek Send a message via AIM to fishfreek Send a message via MSN to fishfreek Send a message via Yahoo to fishfreek
Arnt we all on a budget? Just some budgets are larger than others. Belive me I understand a budget and I get stuff for the tanks when I can afford to.

I had my 80 gal empty for almost a year before I started buying stuff simply becuase it was not time.

oK. back on subject.

you want sand that is sugar grain sized. Where do you live goby? if you are on the north east you might be able to find some sand in home depot under the name "southdown" this sand is arganite sand and its just the right size for your tank. If you cant find that then maybe you can find some sand under the name yardright (i think thats what its called).

If you cant find that then look here http://www.purearagonite.com/ they sell the same sand as southdown just under a different name. You can use the sand depth calc on this site or the one at the site above to figure how much sand you need for a depth of 2-3".

Yes you can save some $$ if you get dry base rock or wet base rock and then get some nice rocks for the top of the aquascape. Have you looked online for live rock? How bigis your tank.

www.ffexpress.com has lr for $85/45lb box. It comes to about $3/lb after shipping. I just got a box from there u can see photos under this forum I think.
__________________
Remember dont tap the glass, your fish will think you're an idiot -Anonymous mother

Check out our articles area. 30+ Aquatic articles for your enjoyment
Are you in or around the Shenandoah Valley area? If so click here to join our regional forum.
fishfreek is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
aragonite, seachem, substrate

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Aragonite Hairy_Harold Cichlid Discussion 5 02-19-2009 11:53 PM
aragonite substrate (sand pittttttttttttt) zephyr Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 9 05-20-2006 10:23 AM
Is aragonite a good substrate for FW? bzbee Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 4 04-20-2005 07:48 PM
Interested in Aragonite? bigreddastud Midwest & the Dakotas 12 05-30-2004 03:53 AM
Sand/Aragonite substrate....is it any good? Patwa Saltwater Reef Aquaria 3 04-15-2004 11:26 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:36 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.