Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 07-11-2004, 07:03 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Glendale, CA
Posts: 93
Send a message via ICQ to Aztlan
Seachem MultiTest: Copper NO reading

Hi guys, I just purched the Seachem MultiTest: Copper. I have already dosed my 10g Quarantine tank with 2 ml of Cupramine. I have been testing the water and I get no reading, Water is still clear no hint of blue.

Here is how I ran the test.

1. added level scoop of copper reagent 1 to test plate.
2. filled pippette to base of bulb with water fom QT tank.
3. put pippette water in test cavity of test plate and stirred.
4 added 2 drops of Copper Reagent 2 and stirred.
waited for like 30 minutes no reading.

Also did the reference test for the kit no reading as well. I did use 3 drops of copper reagent on step 4.

Any ideas what I'm doing wrong?
__________________

__________________
60 Gallon SeaClear Acrylic
70lbs of Gulf Live Rock
90lbs of CaribSea Aragonite Oolitic Sand
1lb of Live Sand
48in JBJ Formosa DX-JG3 two 10k & two 03' Actinic
AquaClear Pro 75 Wet/Dry Filter w/ Prefilter & Protein Skimmer
2 Maxijet 1200
2 100watt Visi-Therm Deluxe Heater
3 thermometers
JBJ Arctica Chiller DBA-075
3 Dwarf Zebra Hermit Crabs
3 Astraea Conehead Snails
3 Red Hermit Crabs
2 Blue Damsels
Aztlan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2004, 07:17 PM   #2
steve-s
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Re: Seachem MultiTest: Copper NO reading

Quote:
Originally Posted by Aztlan
Here is how I ran the test.

1. added level scoop of copper reagent 1 to test plate.
2. filled pippette to base of bulb with water fom QT tank.
3. put pippette water in test cavity of test plate and stirred.
4 added 2 drops of Copper Reagent 2 and stirred.
waited for like 30 minutes no reading.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Seachem
Instructions
1. Using the supplied spoon, add one level measure of Copper Reagent 1 to a cavity of the test
plate.
2. Fill sample pipette to base of bulb and dispense to a test cavity of the test plate. Repeat, adding
to same cavity
. Stir briefly with straight end of spoon. It is normal for not all powder to dissolve. If
testing chelated copper, let sit 25 minutes before proceeding to Step 3 (Cupramine™ is not
chelated).
3. Add 2 drops of Copper Reagent 2, stir briefly with straight end of spoon.
4. Compare color to color chart after 5–10 minutes.
5. Promptly dispose of completed test solutions by rinsing test cavity under running water. If the test
plate becomes stained, soak or clean with a dilute bleach cleaner, then rinse well.
Two possible problems. You only used ½ amount of water from the QT tank and the sample was left to sit too long before a comparisson. If there was not enough sample from the QT, your copper test will only be measuring a weak sample. Was there any color change any time throughout the process?

Quote:
Also did the reference test for the kit no reading as well.
If you used the reference sample properly and there was no result there is a very good chance the regents are faulty or expired. Send Seachem an e-mail with the lot number and the procedure you used. They will definately replace your regents if they are faulty.

Cheers
Steve
__________________
  Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2004, 07:27 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Glendale, CA
Posts: 93
Send a message via ICQ to Aztlan
I read on their web site you only need to use a small amount of copper reagent 1. I have been using a level scoop, like the instructions say.
Which instructions should I listen too.

http://www.seachem.com/support/FAQs/MT_Copper_faq.html

I'm sending them an email as well.

Thanks
__________________
60 Gallon SeaClear Acrylic
70lbs of Gulf Live Rock
90lbs of CaribSea Aragonite Oolitic Sand
1lb of Live Sand
48in JBJ Formosa DX-JG3 two 10k & two 03' Actinic
AquaClear Pro 75 Wet/Dry Filter w/ Prefilter & Protein Skimmer
2 Maxijet 1200
2 100watt Visi-Therm Deluxe Heater
3 thermometers
JBJ Arctica Chiller DBA-075
3 Dwarf Zebra Hermit Crabs
3 Astraea Conehead Snails
3 Red Hermit Crabs
2 Blue Damsels
Aztlan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2004, 07:33 PM   #4
steve-s
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
I am not refering to the regent but the water from the QT. You need to use two pipettes of water from the quarantine tank. The way you posted above, I read it as you only used one pipette of QT water?

Cheers
Steve
__________________
  Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2004, 07:37 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Glendale, CA
Posts: 93
Send a message via ICQ to Aztlan
ahh, I did not see that before. I have been only adding 1 pippette.
Thanks. I'll try that now.
__________________
60 Gallon SeaClear Acrylic
70lbs of Gulf Live Rock
90lbs of CaribSea Aragonite Oolitic Sand
1lb of Live Sand
48in JBJ Formosa DX-JG3 two 10k & two 03' Actinic
AquaClear Pro 75 Wet/Dry Filter w/ Prefilter & Protein Skimmer
2 Maxijet 1200
2 100watt Visi-Therm Deluxe Heater
3 thermometers
JBJ Arctica Chiller DBA-075
3 Dwarf Zebra Hermit Crabs
3 Astraea Conehead Snails
3 Red Hermit Crabs
2 Blue Damsels
Aztlan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2004, 02:25 AM   #6
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Glendale, CA
Posts: 93
Send a message via ICQ to Aztlan
I was able to get the correct reading now using the reference kit.

Thanks again.
__________________

__________________
60 Gallon SeaClear Acrylic
70lbs of Gulf Live Rock
90lbs of CaribSea Aragonite Oolitic Sand
1lb of Live Sand
48in JBJ Formosa DX-JG3 two 10k & two 03' Actinic
AquaClear Pro 75 Wet/Dry Filter w/ Prefilter & Protein Skimmer
2 Maxijet 1200
2 100watt Visi-Therm Deluxe Heater
3 thermometers
JBJ Arctica Chiller DBA-075
3 Dwarf Zebra Hermit Crabs
3 Astraea Conehead Snails
3 Red Hermit Crabs
2 Blue Damsels
Aztlan is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
seachem

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Still Reading :| Steven A Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 9 12-31-2005 02:33 PM
NO KH reading kagentx Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 5 03-15-2005 02:22 AM
Seachem Copper Multi test kit...question fishman Saltwater Reef Aquaria 3 07-08-2004 11:59 AM
pH reading of 7.7 swishyfishies Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 3 07-10-2003 12:01 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:26 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.