Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 09-11-2004, 12:12 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: brooklyn ny
Posts: 68
seaclone skimmer fustrationS

well i just jumped into one of these things without first looking into them i hate it no matter what i try i cant get it adjusted for that matter i dont know how much or what point the bubbles should be no matter what i do its either no foam or all foam that goes up the intake and fills the cup with watter sometimes i think i have it and its at the top of the intake but eventually bubbles over so i tryed drilling the hole in the cap and running the air stone in it but the valve i have for the air stone is the same problem too much or none .. anyone have suggestions how to get it to work or what valve i could buy to ease the pain -thanks
__________________

__________________
eddiedellz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2004, 07:44 AM   #2
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Cochranville PA
Posts: 698
You are no alone. There have been many past posts about that skimmer. Someone started a thread a few months ago about "How to tweek your seaclone". I thought I saved it, but didn't. Search for it. Or did any one else rember where it is?
__________________

__________________
A lot of ripples make a wave
darb2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2004, 08:21 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: brooklyn ny
Posts: 68
ive seen it ive tryed it i still dont understand exactly where the foam level is sapose to be and how much would actually be effective and still have the problem of ether theres too much bubbles or none. anyone know a bettter valve?
__________________
eddiedellz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2004, 10:50 AM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
lando's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Savage, MN
Posts: 7,889
Is this a new skimmer or a new tank? I used a Seaclone for over a year on my previous tank and had no problems with it. I have found that the break-in period is a bit longer. If it is shooting out tiny bublbles jst close the valvue completely for a week or so and try it again. Eventualy, it will magically start working. At least that is what happened to mine. Once it was broken in the thing skimed like crazy.
__________________
lando is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2004, 07:01 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: brooklyn ny
Posts: 68
well im not looking for it to start working but if i have the valve open and it overflows evey time thats my concern no matter how i tune it it overflows no bubbles or tooo much bubbles :T
__________________
eddiedellz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2004, 07:17 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Montana, Billings
Posts: 267
Send a message via ICQ to nyghtone Send a message via AIM to nyghtone Send a message via MSN to nyghtone Send a message via Yahoo to nyghtone
I have this skimmer also, and I will be upgrading to a AquaC EV-120 ASAP. This skimmer sucks, just get used to it, I adjust mine daily, if not more. It does work, but it's a LOT of work on the owners part to get the skimmer to do it's work.

Good luck and keep tweeking, it's all that you can do..

HTH, Joshua...
__________________
Today is a good day, at least it was last time that I checked, haha...

www.nyghtone.com
nyghtone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2004, 06:09 PM   #7
jmc
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: VA
Posts: 60
eddiedellz,

Are you using it in your sump or externally? I use a Seaclone in my sump, and although I'm not overly impressed with it, it seems to do its job at least partially. Make sure you're venturi is fit snug to the intake on the pump (mine is a maxijet). Also make sure the airline hose is not kinked and then open the valve (start with completely closed and then turn counter clockwise) until the air bubbles in the chamber form a vortex as high up as possible. Your return volume should be closer to a trickle than pouring out - you need to hold back that pump. Your skimmer will need to go through a break-in period once you get the air mixture right.

I'm not sure what you are trying to achieve with the airstone, but if you want to safegaurd a skimmate overflow situation you should tap the collection cup and run some airline tubing into a collection container that is larger than the collection cup on the skimmer. HTH...
__________________
________________________________
jmc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2004, 06:36 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Crete Illinois
Posts: 656
I also have a Seaclone skimmer. Mine works really good. I have to empty the cup usually daily. What I have found are a couple things:

First, if it is brand new it will require a couple of weeks to "break in"...so you will see the bubbles for a while. It only took 3 days for mine to stop producing bubbles.

Next, make sure you are getting clean air from the tube. Adjust the fitting on the tube to 1-1/2 full turns and let it go. That seems to be the best setting for the SeaClone skimmer. It will start producing "coffee" within a few days of break-in provided you have something in the water to skim. You just have to be patient with any skimmer. They just don't start working right away.

Also, I never adjust mine after the initial setup. You just have to make sure that the air line is where it will get fresh air as opposed to salt laden air. The salt air will eventually develope salt creep into the hose and clog it and then you will have to clean out the hose to make it work correctly again.

Also remember that when you "clean" you skimmer, it will have to "break-in" all over again. I clean mine every 3-4 months.

From all of the bad posts that this skimmer gets, I must have been so lucky to get the ONE that actually works...LOL

Anyway, I hope this will help you out some.

Mike
__________________
125 Gal-35 Gal Wet/Dry-Tetra-Tec PF500 HOB Filter
(3) AuquaClear 301 Powerheads-600 GPH Circulating Pump
Automatic Tempature Controller
5-6 Inch Sand Bed-200+ lbs of LR
Sparky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2004, 06:43 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
revhtree's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Rossville. Ga
Posts: 4,500
Sorry I have to say, I have never had any problems with my SClone 150. Skims great, and I have never had any problems with my water parimeters.


PS. I take the cup off, and adjust the air flow until I get a good fizz right at the top of the cylinder.
__________________
Remember to Keep Christ First!
revhtree is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2004, 10:18 AM   #10
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Houston
Posts: 47
I don't know if this is right or if it just worked for mine, but when mine was breaking in(approx one day after installing it), I just cleaned it with "dirty" water from a water change and it started working perfectly after that. I think there are things left on them from the factory that need to be washed off real well before adding it to your tank. My break in period was about 30 secondas after I did that, b/c it started putting out gunk almost immediatly!

Like I said, Don't know if this was the right thing to do, but it worked for mine.
__________________

__________________
Doug01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
seaclone, skimmer

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Seaclone Protein Skimmer? seacat Saltwater Reef Aquaria 7 05-02-2005 07:04 PM
Seaclone skimmer advise supermarvin76 General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 14 04-20-2005 02:36 AM
seaclone skimmer mastershake Saltwater Reef Aquaria 4 01-18-2005 10:36 AM
seaclone skimmer Lindsikins00 Saltwater Reef Aquaria 18 07-13-2004 06:05 PM
Problem with my SeaClone Skimmer William Saltwater Reef Aquaria 5 03-30-2004 10:25 AM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:30 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.