Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 09-22-2004, 04:46 PM   #21
Moderator Emeritus
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Indiana USA
Posts: 2,694
I hooked mine up last night and I can say I was a bit dissappointed as well. I left the diffuser on so I might try taking it off and seeing what it does. I will have to figure out what mounting pieces to use. This thing has a bunch

I am running 2 maxijet 1200, a dual outlet JBJ and this Seio 620. I had hoped to lose a Maxi with this one but I don't know yet.
__________________

__________________
*180 gal Display, 100 gal basement sump, 33 gal refugium, 3x250 MH, 2x160 VHO actinics, zoos, some softies, LPS & lots of acros and other SPS.
*100 gal prop tank plumbed into main system w/ 2x96 PC lights and 1x150 MH,
ellisz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2004, 05:14 PM   #22
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Defuniak Springs, Fl
Posts: 636
In my opinon, there is no way this thing is putting out 620gph. It maybe putting out half that.
__________________

__________________
150 gal inwall reef tank, DIY everything except the tank and skimmer, MAG-24 return, 3 1200 Maxi-jets, Turboflotor 1000 Skimmer, 100qt Igloo Cooler sump.

www.panhandlereefers.com

Join N. Florida Regional Forum
GrndHog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2004, 12:50 AM   #23
Moderator Emeritus
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Indiana USA
Posts: 2,694
I just changed mine so it runs like the Tunze pumps. Took me about 20 minutes to get it running again. It would just hum and do nothing. Reminds me of the Rio 2800SS I have that does not work any more.

I did get it running and it does seem to flow more but does not seem like 620 gph by no means. Oh well...
__________________
*180 gal Display, 100 gal basement sump, 33 gal refugium, 3x250 MH, 2x160 VHO actinics, zoos, some softies, LPS & lots of acros and other SPS.
*100 gal prop tank plumbed into main system w/ 2x96 PC lights and 1x150 MH,
ellisz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2004, 10:21 AM   #24
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Northern Va
Posts: 478
I remember reading that because these pumps do not have a high velocity (jet stream) that they appear/feel like they are not putting out as much as a MJ 1200. But if you consider the mass amount of water being pushed, it does put out the specified gph. It just disperses the flow in a much wider pattern...
__________________
TygGer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2004, 10:59 AM   #25
Moderator Emeritus
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Indiana USA
Posts: 2,694
Hopefully you are correct. It upset me that it would not start back up after I unplugged it. I would definately not put it on a wave timer.
__________________
*180 gal Display, 100 gal basement sump, 33 gal refugium, 3x250 MH, 2x160 VHO actinics, zoos, some softies, LPS & lots of acros and other SPS.
*100 gal prop tank plumbed into main system w/ 2x96 PC lights and 1x150 MH,
ellisz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2004, 10:52 PM   #26
Moderator Emeritus
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Indiana USA
Posts: 2,694
Mine has officially died. I am going to try and get a replacement. It has locked up and I have tried cleaning the shaft with vinegar. No luck
__________________
*180 gal Display, 100 gal basement sump, 33 gal refugium, 3x250 MH, 2x160 VHO actinics, zoos, some softies, LPS & lots of acros and other SPS.
*100 gal prop tank plumbed into main system w/ 2x96 PC lights and 1x150 MH,
ellisz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2004, 10:30 PM   #27
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Northern Va
Posts: 478
Did you have these on a wave maker device?
__________________
TygGer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2004, 08:54 AM   #28
Moderator Emeritus
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Indiana USA
Posts: 2,694
No wavemaker for me. I had read that it was not recommended. I am going to send it back to get another. I really liked the water movement when it worked. It did not feel very strong but after seeing the flow in the tank, it was pretty good.
__________________

__________________
*180 gal Display, 100 gal basement sump, 33 gal refugium, 3x250 MH, 2x160 VHO actinics, zoos, some softies, LPS & lots of acros and other SPS.
*100 gal prop tank plumbed into main system w/ 2x96 PC lights and 1x150 MH,
ellisz is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
pump

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Water submersion switch to turn off filter pump if water helicopter DIY Projects 7 03-31-2007 05:54 AM
SEIO Super flow pump M620 Question. BigTruck6o2 General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 15 01-05-2006 08:52 PM
Aquarium pump question? KMyers18 General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 2 05-25-2005 12:52 AM
Seio pump....does it rotate?? supermarvin76 Saltwater Reef Aquaria 2 05-05-2005 10:58 AM
Ever use a Rio Seio pump?? MT79 General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 0 03-18-2005 08:19 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:35 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.