Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 10-29-2006, 07:38 PM   #31
AA Team Emeritus
 
austinsdad's Avatar


 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Accokeek, Maryland
Posts: 7,694
All is OK. No other tests needed. You'll see the ammonina first.
__________________

__________________
-Ray-

"Life may not be the party we hoped for but while we are here we might as well dance!"

austinsdad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2006, 11:40 PM   #32
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Texas
Posts: 1,152
Send a message via Yahoo to fishman
I will see the ammonia IF the cycle needs to happen. Again I wonder if I have enough bacteria base that it will not cycle.
Also as I asked previously, does the water turn cloudy for any reason once you put the shrimp in there? I know its not the shrimp particles floating around as I put it inside of a baggie and slit a bunch of holes in it. I didnt want to have to pick out peices of shrimp for the next week once it started rotting!!
__________________

__________________
fishman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2006, 12:15 AM   #33
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: not here anymore
Posts: 5,338
Can't say I remember cloudiness with my cycle. Good idea with the baggie! I remember when I went to fish out that shrimp at the end of my cycle. It looked so solid before I touched it with a spoon!

If you do already have a bacterial base, then you're right - you won't see any ammonia. But that's easy enough to check for if you check for nitrates along with everything else. If you see an increase in nitrates with ammonia/nitrites staying at zero then you definitely have a good supply of beneficial bacterial.
__________________
Kurt_Nelson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2006, 12:25 AM   #34
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Texas
Posts: 1,152
Send a message via Yahoo to fishman
Well I figure I will test my water for everything on say Tues as this will be 3 days with the shrimp in there.
Yes I have a baggie with the shrimp in there as well as a baggie with some LS in it. Course I have the top of the baggie unzipped and is open but I dont want the sand to be clouding up the tank. I think this may be SOME of my cloudiness but doenst look to bad just yet. Will keep you posted.
__________________
fishman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2006, 08:38 AM   #35
AA Team Emeritus
 
austinsdad's Avatar


 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Accokeek, Maryland
Posts: 7,694
Sorry, I think in my last post I wuz too lazy to go back and read again about the bio-media already in the tank. You got rock, bio media in the filter, and did you say sand earlier? (too lazy to go back again )

I'm starting to think that if there's no ammonia this evening, I'd remove the shrimp and consider the tank cycled.
__________________
austinsdad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2006, 09:28 PM   #36
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Texas
Posts: 1,152
Send a message via Yahoo to fishman
I have LS, 2 biowheels that were in my sump for 3+ months as a bacteria base. The LS is in a sandwich baggie with the top opened so it lets water in and around the sand, but the sand doesnt get everywhere.
__________________
fishman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2006, 10:17 PM   #37
AA Team Emeritus
 
austinsdad's Avatar


 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Accokeek, Maryland
Posts: 7,694
Cool 'cause you should remove it if you ever treat with meds. particularly copper i believe.

Didja remove the shrimp? I think it'd be OK.
__________________
-Ray-

"Life may not be the party we hoped for but while we are here we might as well dance!"

austinsdad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2006, 10:53 PM   #38
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Texas
Posts: 1,152
Send a message via Yahoo to fishman
Yeah thats why I went with sand instead of LR as its easy and cheap to replace. Also the biowheels are no biggie either. Save them for next time.
No I left the shrimp in there just to make sure. I took an ammonia reading again tonight and still at 0. I figure I will leave it in there through Wed afternoon and then pull it. Shouldnt hurt. Call me crazy but I want to make SURE its cycled!! I figure the cup of LS and biowheels have done the job...
__________________
fishman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2006, 10:33 AM   #39
AA Team Emeritus
 
austinsdad's Avatar


 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Accokeek, Maryland
Posts: 7,694
Quote:
I figure the cup of LS and biowheels have done the job...
yep. I'd say that if a 2" piece of shrimp is decaying in your tank for 3 days so far with no trace of ammonia, you're well cycled. Now I think I'd start watching the nitrates to make sure they don't go up too high.
__________________
-Ray-

"Life may not be the party we hoped for but while we are here we might as well dance!"

austinsdad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2006, 07:40 PM   #40
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Texas
Posts: 1,152
Send a message via Yahoo to fishman
Well its more like 3" on the shrimp size!!
I will take it out tomorrow for sure. Also if my nitrates ARE high should I do a partial water change?
__________________

__________________
fishman is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
qt tank, setting up, tan

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Setting up Tank Via Holes Drilled in Bottom of Tank? jeffnyc General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 3 07-31-2009 09:59 AM
Setting up a QT tank. jasonw0w Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 3 07-20-2009 02:45 PM
? on setting up my tank mom2reds Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 5 03-04-2007 07:10 PM
Setting up a breeding tank/fry raising tank. Billsgate Freshwater & Brackish - Breeding 8 06-04-2005 03:17 PM
Setting up new tank NightSpirit Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 3 10-27-2003 05:56 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:27 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.