Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 10-31-2006, 09:59 PM   #41
AA Team Emeritus
 
roka64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 13,860
Send a message via AIM to roka64 Send a message via Yahoo to roka64
Quote:
Originally Posted by fishman
Also if my nitrates ARE high should I do a partial water change?
Yes. That would be best. If you are at 20ppm, maybe do a 50%, to get them to 10ppm.
__________________

__________________
Age is relative, you are only as old as you act....of course, this works in reverse....

Questions loved, heeded advice greatly appreciated!

Vote for AA
Good reading about:
Nitrogen Cycle
Fishless Cycling
Need more help?
Articles
Acronym List

--Scott
roka64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2006, 12:15 AM   #42
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Texas
Posts: 1,152
Send a message via Yahoo to fishman
Ok so as I was about to take the shrimp out tonight, I decided to test the water. I show I now have .8 or above on ammonia and between 40 and 60 nitrates. So appears I didnt have enough bacteria base in there after all.
So do I leave the shrimp in there now? Or take it out and let the tank do its thing? The shrimp has been in there since this past Sat. 10-28
What else do I need to do?
__________________

__________________
fishman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2006, 10:21 AM   #43
AA Team Emeritus
 
austinsdad's Avatar


 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Accokeek, Maryland
Posts: 7,694
Take the shrimp out. There's is enuf ammonia in there to finish. After the ammonia comes down, the nitrites go up and come back down - then you'll have the bacteria base you're looking for.

But yes, Take the shrimp out. Your ammonia is already at the top of the chart and you're prolonging things unecessarily IMO.
__________________
-Ray-

"Life may not be the party we hoped for but while we are here we might as well dance!"

austinsdad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2006, 12:46 PM   #44
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: not here anymore
Posts: 5,338
Quote:
Originally Posted by austinsdad
But yes, Take the shrimp out. Your ammonia is already at the top of the chart and you're prolonging things unecessarily IMO.
Ammonia at 0.8 is "top of the chart?" Granted, you normally don't want any in there, but I was thinking this could be considered "a trace" during cycling.

I hear what you're saying though. When I cycled my QT, I left the shrimp in too long and got ammonia levels between 4 and 6ppm. While still not at the top of the chart, it did prolong my cycle. When I finally did a couple water changes to bring it down to about 2ppm, my cycle finally kicked in to high gear. Don't really know if it would've kicked in regardless of the water changes, but it did seem rather coincidental.

Austinsdad - did you misread his ammonia level in the post, or is my sense of "good" ammonia levels during a cycle just totally off base? You've got way more experience than me, and I'm always looking to learn!
__________________
Kurt_Nelson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2006, 01:17 PM   #45
AA Team Emeritus
 
austinsdad's Avatar


 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Accokeek, Maryland
Posts: 7,694
You're right. I did misread - or just mis-assumed that a 3" shrimp would stink it up enuf in there to drive it to the top (8.0). Keep forgetting about the bio-media in the tank.

If it is .8 indeed, I'd still take the shrimp out and watch the nitrites now. If they are at zero also, then I'd guess the tank is cycled. Then, we gotta get the water changes together to get that nitrate down (and remove the shirmp - did I say that already??)

Hey, 8) we may be talking cleaning crew and a (that's one) fish in a few days.

Hmmm. Got a test to show amounts that small? Assuming .8. Or maybe, like I do - "well it's between .50 and 1.0".
__________________
austinsdad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2006, 01:19 PM   #46
AA Team Emeritus
 
roka64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 13,860
Send a message via AIM to roka64 Send a message via Yahoo to roka64
Quote:
Originally Posted by austinsdad
Hey, Cool we may be talking cleaning crew and a (that's one) fish in a few days.
psst....I believe it's a QT....no cleaning crew needed....LOL!
__________________
Age is relative, you are only as old as you act....of course, this works in reverse....

Questions loved, heeded advice greatly appreciated!

Vote for AA
Good reading about:
Nitrogen Cycle
Fishless Cycling
Need more help?
Articles
Acronym List

--Scott
roka64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2006, 01:25 PM   #47
AA Team Emeritus
 
austinsdad's Avatar


 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Accokeek, Maryland
Posts: 7,694
That's it!! I've had it. I always knew I had this "lazy about reading previous post" disorder. Now, everyone knows it!!!!

I'm gonna see the veteranarian about it ASAP. Oops, I meant physician!

I'll get better someday.
__________________
-Ray-

"Life may not be the party we hoped for but while we are here we might as well dance!"

austinsdad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2006, 01:35 PM   #48
AA Team Emeritus
 
roka64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 13,860
Send a message via AIM to roka64 Send a message via Yahoo to roka64
Quote:
Originally Posted by austinsdad
That's it!! I've had it. I always knew I had this "lazy about reading previous post" disorder. Now, everyone knows it!!!!

I'm gonna see the veteranarian about it ASAP. Oops, I meant physician!

I'll get better someday.
LOL!
__________________
Age is relative, you are only as old as you act....of course, this works in reverse....

Questions loved, heeded advice greatly appreciated!

Vote for AA
Good reading about:
Nitrogen Cycle
Fishless Cycling
Need more help?
Articles
Acronym List

--Scott
roka64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2006, 12:15 AM   #49
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Texas
Posts: 1,152
Send a message via Yahoo to fishman
The .8 is the highest level on my ammonia chart so Im maxed out.
So I took the shrimp out, and I assume I will wait a day or so and test again?
Also where does the bacteria build? On the media I assume but since I only have 2 biowheels, some LS and some PVC, I guess it builds on there? I have heard conflicting stories that the bacteria builds in the water, on the media and tank, etc. I would think if the bacteria were in the water, then why would my tank need to cycle at all since the water came from the main?
So how long do I need to wait to add a fish? Guess it depends?
__________________
fishman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2006, 01:54 AM   #50
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: not here anymore
Posts: 5,338
What brand ammonia test you got there? 0.8ppm should not be maxed out. Are you sure that's not 8.0 ppm? Like Austinsdad said, 0.8 is not normally listed on the charts - but a lot of us kind of estimate when the color is between colors on the chart. "Well... it's higher than 0.5, but lower than 1.0... but it's closer in color to 1.0, so let's call it 0.8"... that kind of thing.

In your case, the bacteria will build on the biowheel and in the sand. That's it. Granted... it's probably in the water, but not in the quantities you need to convert the ammonia to nitrates.

Don't add fish until both your ammonia AND nitrites drop to zero. Ammonia will spike first, then come down. As ammonia is coming down, nitrites will spike, then come down. Eventually they'll both be at zero, and you'll have a bunch of nitrates. Judging by your previous nitrate readings you'll have a BUNCH of nitrates! Do 50% water changes, one a day, until you get down somewhere below 10 (even lower if you want to be kind to your new fish!) and you're good to go.
__________________

__________________
Kurt_Nelson is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
qt tank, setting up, tan

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Setting up Tank Via Holes Drilled in Bottom of Tank? jeffnyc General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 3 07-31-2009 09:59 AM
Setting up a QT tank. jasonw0w Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 3 07-20-2009 02:45 PM
? on setting up my tank mom2reds Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 5 03-04-2007 07:10 PM
Setting up a breeding tank/fry raising tank. Billsgate Freshwater & Brackish - Breeding 8 06-04-2005 03:17 PM
Setting up new tank NightSpirit Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 3 10-27-2003 05:56 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:58 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.