Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 10-23-2006, 12:37 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Texas
Posts: 1,152
Send a message via Yahoo to fishman
Setting up QT tank

All
Im setting up my QT 30 gallon in anticipation of buying a yellow tang from a friend that is getting out of the hobby. I have 2 HOB filters for the 30 gallon QT tank which obviously holds 2 biowheels. I have seeded the biowheels now for some 3 months at least. Plus Im going to pull a couple of less than baseball size peices of rubble rock out of my sump for the QT tank too. Should this be enough so that I wont cycle when I put the tang in the tank? I am going to throw the rubble rock away once Im done so Im not worried about it. Also I have 6 large peices of PVC for hiding.
Any suggestions?
__________________

__________________
fishman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2006, 10:08 AM   #2
AA Team Emeritus
 
roka64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 13,860
Send a message via AIM to roka64 Send a message via Yahoo to roka64
I think, you could use the biowheels and LR to get a pretty quick cycle. I would add the LR and test the water. Once the cycle is complete, you can just move the LR back, there is no point in just throwing it away.
One question, where do you have the bio wheels now? Keep in mind, the nitrifying bacteria does not reside in the water column (in case you were just floating them), but in the LR and substrate.
__________________

__________________
Age is relative, you are only as old as you act....of course, this works in reverse....

Questions loved, heeded advice greatly appreciated!

Vote for AA
Good reading about:
Nitrogen Cycle
Fishless Cycling
Need more help?
Articles
Acronym List

--Scott
roka64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2006, 02:27 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Chicago Suburbs
Posts: 320
if you can, put NEW HOB filter media in the sump of your main tank until you get the tang. the filter media will hold the bacteria, and you probably wont need the live rock in the QT. transfer it to the QT when the tang arrives.

make sure that if you put the live rock in the tQT and you treat the QT with any medication, you DO NOT put that live rock back in the main tank / sump.

test your QT water frequently, and do QT PWC's frequently.

~mike
__________________
55gal FOWLR,
DIY stand and Hood,
AquaC Remora,
Coralife Lunar Aqualight (4x65W),
60 LB Hirocks Base Rock, 40 LB LR 50/50 Keys/Gulf
150 LB Playsand (~3-4 in DSB)
2 x Blood Red Fire Shrimp, 2 x Cleaner Shrimp
2 x Black and White Percula Clown, 1 x Orange Spotted Blenny, 1 x Red Stripe High Fin Goby
mp3z24 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2006, 12:08 AM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Texas
Posts: 1,152
Send a message via Yahoo to fishman
mp3
Dont know if you saw or not, but I have 2 biowheels in the sump now and they have been there for about 3 months. I have been told that anything in the water, if left alone will gather bacteria and can be seeded. I assume biowheels are no different. Also I do like the idea of some sand from my main into my QT for bacteria as well.
Anything that I use in my QT I have to throw away. I have used copped in the QT tank previously so once Im done with the LR, sand, biowheels, etc then it all must go! Again any and all suggestions are much appreciated. I just dont want to end up with a cycle.
__________________
fishman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2006, 12:24 AM   #5
AA Team Emeritus
 
roka64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 13,860
Send a message via AIM to roka64 Send a message via Yahoo to roka64
Quote:
Originally Posted by fishman
Anything that I use in my QT I have to throw away. I have used copped in the QT tank previously so once Im done with the LR, sand, biowheels, etc then it all must go!
Yes, you are correct, if you have used copper in your QT, don't put that back in your main. I have to caution this, watch any kind of meds that "kill" bacteria, otherwise, you might have a cycle in your QT, since your nitrifiying bacteria is, well bacteria.
__________________
Age is relative, you are only as old as you act....of course, this works in reverse....

Questions loved, heeded advice greatly appreciated!

Vote for AA
Good reading about:
Nitrogen Cycle
Fishless Cycling
Need more help?
Articles
Acronym List

--Scott
roka64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2006, 11:16 AM   #6
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Texas
Posts: 1,152
Send a message via Yahoo to fishman
Im wondering...I struggeled with QT tanks before and dont know how this works. So you cycle a tank and get the good bacteria going for you be it on rocks, PVC, biowheels, etc. And then you add say copper and it "kills" the good bacteria. Then how do you keep your tank from blowing up? Producing another cycle? If you kill all of the good bacteria, then how do you keep your levels (amonia, trites) from getting out of control? At one time when I was QT'ing a few of my fish, I was having to do 2 water changes per day to keep these levels down...I dont want to have to go through this again.
__________________
fishman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2006, 11:46 AM   #7
AA Team Emeritus
 
roka64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 13,860
Send a message via AIM to roka64 Send a message via Yahoo to roka64
Basically, you cycle the tank, but watch what kind of nedications you use. If you are treating for a bacterial infection, it probably contains anti-biotics, those can kill the beneficial bacteria as well as the bacterial infection in/on the fish and cause a cycle.
The copper doesn't kill the bacteria, that is a different med altogether. You will find yourself changing water more often, dempending on the amount of fish and thier size, remember, smaller tanks have less water, this means less room for error. If you have a few fish with, let's say ich, they are stressed and will produce more waste, as opposed to QT'ing a few new fish that are not stressed.
__________________
Age is relative, you are only as old as you act....of course, this works in reverse....

Questions loved, heeded advice greatly appreciated!

Vote for AA
Good reading about:
Nitrogen Cycle
Fishless Cycling
Need more help?
Articles
Acronym List

--Scott
roka64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2006, 11:51 AM   #8
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Texas
Posts: 1,152
Send a message via Yahoo to fishman
If IM using some sand and LR from my main, then it shouldnt need to cycle right? If so and I use LS and LR, how long does the tank need to be set up before I can add 1 yellow tang? Im buying it from a friend in a 1 1/2 weeks from now. He said he has not had ick in over 2 years so I want to make sure. As far as he knows the fish is healthy and has been for 2 years at least. It will be in a 30 gallon long QT
__________________
fishman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2006, 11:52 AM   #9
AA Team Emeritus
 
austinsdad's Avatar


 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Accokeek, Maryland
Posts: 7,694
Copper won't kill the bacteria I don't believe. It will harm inverts though. Snails, crabs, stars, coral, etc. Your copper level will be at .15 (or 15.0)ppm or below (test kit required!!) to either treat or prevent ich and stuff like that.

I'm thinking that with rock from the sump, seeded media (wheels or other media), and some water from the existing tank (next water change without the sand vacuum) you won't cycle. But after that stuff goes in and the tang is added, watch the ammonia levels closely anyway. Either you didn't have enuf seeded media (which I don't think so), or the tang's feedings and presence will drive the ammonia up anyway. I think you'll be alright.

And just think, if the tang doesn't get sick, and there's no copper, you can put everything back. If copper is added, I still wouldn't throw anything away. You may neeed it again. Use some of the more non-interesting rock in the QT in case it stays in there if copper is ever used.
__________________
-Ray-

"Life may not be the party we hoped for but while we are here we might as well dance!"

austinsdad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2006, 12:45 PM   #10
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Texas
Posts: 1,152
Send a message via Yahoo to fishman
Yes I have used copper once before and it worked great. I have the test kit and everything from the last time. (I think this was about 2 years ago - I guess the kit will still be good right?)
Im going to do a 25 gallon water change from my main into my QT so this will be where I get the water from. I will use the 2 biowheels, some sand, and some LR. Since I have used copper once before in my QT, the rock that I put in there will have to be put aside until I need it again in my QT tank.
__________________

__________________
fishman is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
qt tank, setting up, tan

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Setting up Tank Via Holes Drilled in Bottom of Tank? jeffnyc General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 3 07-31-2009 09:59 AM
Setting up a QT tank. jasonw0w Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 3 07-20-2009 02:45 PM
? on setting up my tank mom2reds Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 5 03-04-2007 07:10 PM
Setting up a breeding tank/fry raising tank. Billsgate Freshwater & Brackish - Breeding 8 06-04-2005 03:17 PM
Setting up new tank NightSpirit Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 3 10-27-2003 05:56 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:51 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.