Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 05-10-2005, 01:50 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Montana USA
Posts: 90
Setting up Quarantine and not sure about water set up

I read the AA article on setting up a quarantine tank but still need advise on getting the water quality right. I put a deposit on a fish I really want and it will be available in 2 weeks. LFS owner says that's not enough time to get the QT established. AA article seems to say it is enough time. I filled the tank with water taken from my display tank, but took the sponge out of my qt filter and put it in my sump for it to accumulate good bacteria.

How often should I test the water over the next few weeks?

Should I be working towards a spike in ammonia then nitrites then nitrates as if I had a brand new tank?

I do not have a shrimp handy to create ammonia, could I just add a cube of mysis shrimp that I feed my fish?

It's confusing to me that I started off using water from my main tank that is stable - why wouldn't that same water be stable and ready to accept the new fish?

Anyone willing to share their $.02? I'm all ears!
__________________

__________________
fourmyclowns ....and my four boys who are the real clowns!
fourmyclowns is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2005, 02:55 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: NJ
Posts: 2,111
Quote:
why wouldn't that same water be stable and ready to accept the new fish
Because it is the glass, substrate, filter media (and in your main the rock) that hold the beneficial bacteria responsible for the cycle.

What kind of fish and what size QT? You can always stage an offensive with daily water changes until the bio filter catches up. You could create an overflow into a garbage can so that you have enough water to displace the ammonia.

Hopefully your seeded sponge taken from your main will be enough to carry the load of the fish that you're getting. Otherwise no matter how "stable" your QT when you add the fish you're going to have to react with water changes to keep the water quality on target.

Works for me. Good luck!
__________________

__________________
Phyllis

Join the NJ Reef Club Today! Saving the world's reefs one living room at a time!
MACNA XXI Atlantic City, NJ September 25-27, 2009
Phyl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2005, 03:02 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Rancho Cucamonga, California
Posts: 819
What happens when the QT period is over? Do you return that filter media back into your main/sump? Or do you continually keep material in your sump for QT purposes? I have an old emperor 280 that I could use for a filter... does it matter that the cartridges have carbon? Could I somehow use this so I don't have to buy another filter?

I ask because what if you have to treat the fish for ich or something? I would imagine that you wouldn't want that filter media back in your main tank after treatment 8O


......no hijack intended.......
__________________
~~Rob
RLG2182 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2005, 04:03 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 5,832
Send a message via Yahoo to quarryshark
I just keep a sponge in my sump. When I want to set up a qt, use the water from the main and the seeded sponge and the qt is ready within 24 hrs.
No need for a full cycle if you do this. You can control any water quality issues with water changes.
I just discard the sponge after I am done and place a new one in the sump. Make sure they are aquarium safe sponges, not one from the grocery store. 8O
__________________
quarryshark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2005, 05:16 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Montana USA
Posts: 90
quarryshark - I have a sponge that is in the sump that is a "prefilter" on the maxijet pump. It has been in there for about two months. If I understand your post correctly, I could use that sponge in the qt and the water I have in there now and I'm good to go - no cycle needed - just concientious water maintenance?


to answer the other post - I have an 18 gal and have a deposit on a blue tang (gotta love Dory!)
__________________
fourmyclowns ....and my four boys who are the real clowns!
fourmyclowns is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2005, 05:32 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Montana USA
Posts: 90
oops - I just remembered I rinsed that filter on the Maxijet pump on Sunday, maybe that makes it too "clean"?
__________________
fourmyclowns ....and my four boys who are the real clowns!
fourmyclowns is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2005, 07:06 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 5,832
Send a message via Yahoo to quarryshark
Quote:
If I understand your post correctly, I could use that sponge in the qt and the water I have in there now and I'm good to go - no cycle needed - just concientious water maintenance?
Yes, that is correct.
Quote:
I just remembered I rinsed that filter on the Maxijet pump on Sunday, maybe that makes it too "clean"?
Depending on how good you rinsed it, I would give it a few days.
Also, that 75 gallon is going to be a bit cramped with 2 tangs. Do you plan on a future upgrade?
__________________
quarryshark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2005, 08:09 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Montana USA
Posts: 90
Looks like I need to update my tank contents! We took the yellow tang back to lfs. He had some problems and they offered to exchange him. I wanted to make sure we had our own qt set up before bringing home the next fish. Bicolor angel was also a casualty of him so we have lots of tank space. Thanks for being thorough in your answers though - I appreciate it!
__________________
fourmyclowns ....and my four boys who are the real clowns!
fourmyclowns is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2005, 08:49 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Albany, NY
Posts: 485
Send a message via AIM to badfish
what if i dont have a sump, will i be able to place a sponge in my Protein skimmer, before the water flows back into the Main? Are you talking about a sponge filter? Should i run it or just let it sit in the water?

TIA
__________________
50 Gallon Oceanic: 2 maxijet 1200's, 2 150 watt visitherm heaters, BakPak II Skimmer with PS & BT, Coralife Lunar 2X65 watt Power Compacts

Filtration: 50lbs LR.com, 60lbs sand

Swimmers: 2 O. Clowns, Yellow Watchman, Firefish, Yellow Tang, Dottyback.

Clean-Up: Several snail & hermits, Skunk Cleaner, 2 Peps.

Corals: 2 zoo colonies, yellow polyps, star polyps
badfish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2005, 11:30 PM   #10
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Fort Worth, TX
Posts: 200
Send a message via AIM to Morticus
I put 2 filter sponges in my sump this morning and I am putting in a scotch-bright pad in now. How long will it be before they are colonized enough to transfer them to my qt and get a fish or two?
__________________

__________________
55g cycled. 15g sump, refugium, lr rubble, mag 7, Maxi-Jet 1200. 36lbs hirocks.com, 20# keys 20# gulf lr.com to arrive on Wensday!

1.0 Albino Burmese Python
0.1 California Kingsnake
0.1 Ball Python
0.1 Amelystic Corn Snake
Morticus is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
quarantine, set up, setting up

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Setting up 40L quarantine flanque Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 8 08-08-2006 10:13 PM
Setting up a Quarantine tank mrkjsn Saltwater Reef Aquaria 2 03-13-2006 03:31 PM
Setting Up A Quarantine Tank and adding New Fish. FancyGuppyGuy Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 11 01-05-2005 02:25 AM
Setting up my quarantine tank: questions leafyseadragon Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 1 12-30-2003 01:51 PM
Setting up A quarantine tank Dewey Saltwater Reef Aquaria 2 09-09-2003 12:18 AM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:41 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.