Shipping corals - tips/advice needed

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

dmolavi

Aquarium Advice Addict
I was wondering if anyone here has any experience with shipping corals (specifically thick branching frogspawn). What needs to be done w.r.t. packaging, heating/cooling, amounts of water, etc?

Thanks in advance.

I've never done it before but have seen on unboxing vids there is not a lot of water in the bag, maybe a little bit more than you need to cover the coral.
Insulation depends on where you live and where the customer lives, I'd pack it with a bunch of styrofoam and probably couple heat packs. Just make sure the bag can't move around the much.

I was talking with a friend of mine he ships a lot of stuff as that is his job .
anyway he had a awesome answer to my question about this .

first get yourself a medium size box 11 x 8.5 x 5.5 putting it together , now place a flat section of cardboard on the bottom of the box .

now we need a box of qt size ziploc bags , inflate 4 bags semi full of air seal them and place on the bottom of the box , this will give a air cushion . place a small liner of news paper down over the bags of air this will act as a insulator . remember to repeat this step when your closing the box.

since we are shipping frog spawn/torch/hammer take 1 stalk place it in a ziploc fill bag just enough to cover the stalk , now seal the bag about 3/4 of the way shut now roll the bag up keeping most of the water on the coral once done finish closing bag .

with every 2 of these you do place the 2 rolled bags into another ziploc and close it. this will keep things in place not moving around a lot . place your coral bags flat on the air bags. you may need to stuff some news paper to fill any voids .
place another layer of flat news paper down,

place a heat pack wrapped in paper in the center than add your air bag cushion