Shopping list for new plumber

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

mojo

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
I'm planning on getting a reef ready 150-200 gal tank, and will eventually have a full reef with hard and soft corals, anemones, clams ... the works! Lofty goal, I know, but it's all I think about these days. Unfortunately (?) I'm the kind of person who would rather do without something than buy a lower quality product and upgrade over time. That's why I'll probably have to wait close to another 8-12 months before I get started. I'll use the time to continue to educate myself, but I NEED MORE! I intend to have a large sump/fuge in my tank stand (separate or combo not yet determined), a closed loop, and based on what I've read, that will require some plumbing, especially if I do the project myself.

I have no experience with plumbing at all, and thought I'd go to Home Depot and get some PVC, Rubbermaid containers, some sort of bonding epoxy/glue, and whatever else I'd need to make a practice sump, and just to get familiar with working with the materials. I'm not committed to Rubbermaid, and am interested in acrylic as well (I've been inspired by the work of melev). I'd want to add baffles, probably bulkheads, and I read about "unions" which make attaching PVC segments easy and reversible for cleaning, right?

Anyway, are there some experienced plumbers out there who can recommend a list of things I should buy to play with so that I'll be prepared for the real thing when I'm ready?

I was also thinking of building a PVC scaffolding for my live rock, and I'd appreciate getting a list of things for that as well.

TIA