Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 07-30-2018, 06:51 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
febrocky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Location: Florida
Posts: 10
Should I change my sand substrate?

When I set up my aquarium I put a type of live sand down and then on top of it I put a dry sand that is very fine. Now almost a year and a half after setting up the tank Im getting annoyed with the fine white sand. Im thinking about just siphoning out a lot of the fine sand and just adding another type of live sand on top of the remaining sand that wont be show in my display because the base of my tank has a boarder. I know sand holds a lot of good and bad bacteria so I was thinking Id remove and replace the back of the tanks sand one week and then in a week replace the front area of sand? I know that fully removing all of the fine sand probably wont happen but I would like to try to put a not so fine sand on top to weigh things down a little bit and because I dont exactly like how the fine sand looks. Is this a bad idea? Any input would be great, thanks
__________________

__________________
febrocky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2018, 11:20 PM   #2
Giant Clam Addict
Community Admin
 
Sniperhank's Avatar



POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Summerville, Pennsylvania
Posts: 19,619
When it comes to sand, there will always be settling. That's why people that try to mix crushed coral and sand always get crushed coral on top. If you want to replace things because you don't like it, you'll need to remove all of it. To do so one will need to be very careful as it is also supporting the rock structure in the system. Don't want a collapse that could break the glass...
But in terms of beneficial bacteria, in any established system the rock would have enough to keep the system going. One will want to do water changes after manual removal of the sand due to any gunk that is released from the sandbed and prevent any issues.
Sniperhank is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
ate, change, sand, sand substrate, substrate

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Did a water change during a fishless cycle. Anything I should change? chrono1081 Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 3 03-25-2012 03:25 PM
Substrate change after filter change Floyd R Turbo Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks 6 03-18-2009 12:02 AM
How should I change my substrate (or should I bother?) us2sinrz Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 8 07-14-2006 08:54 PM
should i change my substrate? mumrah Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks 11 07-14-2005 02:40 PM
When should I do my 1st water change? And water change ? stew Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 11 10-11-2003 01:36 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:31 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.