Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 05-29-2005, 03:08 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Florida USA
Posts: 85
Send a message via AIM to spongeynip
Should i go for a sump

For a long time, I have gotten everything as HOB and it was good. But now that i am almost done buying all my equipment, the labirynth of the skimmer, filter, uv sterilizer, power cords, power heads, and soon to be a phosban reactor is getting rediculous! But I only have a 29 gal tank, and no fuge. I have a small quarantine but only for temporary purposes. Would a sump be fopr better or worse (btw, it has to be on a tight budget).
Thanx
-Trent
__________________

__________________
Before you do it, remember, its only legal in 48 states...
Visit my site at spongeynip.sp.funpic.org/2.0.9/phpBB2
spongeynip is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2005, 04:00 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Mankato MN
Posts: 863
Send a message via MSN to gooyferret Send a message via Yahoo to gooyferret
Ya you can put a sump on there i would do it if i was you. Just for the mear fact that you can put all your equipment in the sump and not have any hanging on the back of the tank. You will either have to drill the tank or get a HOB over the tank overflow. I actually have a HOB overflow if you might be interested. Give me a PM if you are. HTH
__________________

__________________
" 'TAP TAP TAP'...Here fishy fishy fishy"
gooyferret is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2005, 04:09 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Florida USA
Posts: 85
Send a message via AIM to spongeynip
alrighty then, sounds good
__________________
Before you do it, remember, its only legal in 48 states...
Visit my site at spongeynip.sp.funpic.org/2.0.9/phpBB2
spongeynip is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2005, 06:58 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Indianapolis, IN
Posts: 192
You don't have to have a large budget to have a sump. Having the space for it is the key. Most people put it underneath their display tank. Do you have room under yours? I put mine behind a wall in my basement so you can't even see it. You can look at buying a used aquarium to use as a sump or a plastic tub. I used an old aquarium so I can look inside of it... it's pretty cool to watch the pods and other critters that reproduce inside of it. Even better, convert some of it into a refugium with some macoalgae and live rock rubble.
__________________
IndyReefMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2005, 08:23 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 582
Send a message via AIM to SeriousDude5
Before I redid my tank it had a sump it was great hid the equipment and everything BUT! IT was the loudest thing I;ve ever heard come from a fish tank. Now I have a HOB and it looks fine. The only excess equipment in my tank is the in and on of the HOB and power head for a protien skimmer. I perfer no sump seems like my tank is even doing better w.o on. But that just my opinion if you would like to see pics of the tank with HOB and Skimmer let me know.
__________________
SeriousDude5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2005, 02:51 AM   #6
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: San Diego
Posts: 307
if you do it right you will barely hear the sump. i would say it is quiter than all the hob stuff if you have a closed cabinet.
__________________
Emancipate yourself from mental slavery,
No one but ourselves can free our minds.
Bob Marley
swissfish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2005, 02:59 AM   #7
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 582
Send a message via AIM to SeriousDude5
I went with an open sump and my was it noisy the HOB it may have just been me IDK but I had a bad experience :-\
__________________
SeriousDude5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2005, 12:45 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
revhtree's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Rossville. Ga
Posts: 4,500
My second sump is quiet. My first one was like a waterfall due to nooby mistakes.
__________________
Remember to Keep Christ First!
revhtree is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2005, 02:52 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Rancho Cucamonga, California
Posts: 819
Both of my sumps were/are silent. It all depends on how it is made and how it is installed that will make it silent or loud. My mag 9.5 is silent, and so is the sedra pump on my euro-reef skimmer. What you need to do to make your sump silent:

First, make sure that there are no sudden drop-offs like waterfalls. If you look here on my sump where water is dropped into first, there is a drop-off, but I angled a 2" piece of glass so that it gently lowers into the next compartment w/o a waterfall.



Second, make yourself a durso standpipe. go to http://www.dursostandpipes.com and click on "popular modifications" and then on "hangon overflow". This is a super easy way to make a unit for $5 that will stop the toilet gurgle sound that traditional overflows make. I have two on my 60, and I can't hear a thing.



Lastly, make sure that your return lines from the main sump pump are positioned away from the water surface enough so that no water is splashed around. Some people like this sound, some people don't. I personally don't, and choose rather to point a PH up so that it ripples the water. I have 4 returns on my tank, and all of them are silent.



When the power shuts off and the backflow syphon starts, it'll only drain about 1/2 inch before air is introduced to the system, thereby stoping the syphon. The water in my sump only rises by 1" ... so no danger of a possible sump overflow. All of these things will help to keep your sump silent. As a word of comparison... I used to have an Emperor 280 on my old 29 gal setup... and that thing was LOUD compared to my sump now. 8)

HTH
__________________
~~Rob
RLG2182 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2005, 11:30 AM   #10
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: St Petersburg Fl
Posts: 603
Send a message via AIM to pearsont74 Send a message via Yahoo to pearsont74
this site has a good concept... http://www.aquacrylics.com/
they make the overflow and drop in sump to fit into a glass tank ....you need is the tank and return pump...

where in fla are u?
__________________

__________________
check my site out --> www.coppernreef.com
pearsont74 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
sump

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
lost my tank, but back at it now! sump or no sump lower11 Saltwater Reef Aquaria 9 07-10-2007 03:35 PM
Pro Clear Sump - How to put heater in sump & Questions.. TheChad Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 6 04-14-2006 07:39 PM
adding another sump onto my original sump bingbat General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 0 01-15-2005 01:00 AM
Whats a sump, A simple sump Mr.Maska Saltwater Reef Aquaria 4 12-19-2004 06:51 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:11 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.