Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 12-09-2012, 07:13 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
pairenoid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 379
should i use amquel plus for water changes

or do i have to continously buy ro water which is 30 minutes away

I only have nitrates in my tap water, cant get below 40 or 20 ppm

If i use it for a water change, do i just prepare my water normally and add dosage of amquel then put it in my tank? this will reduce nitrate to 0, so if my aquarium is hypothetically at 0 nitrate, my nitrates wont go back to 20-40?

i hear it only lasts 24 hours which confuses me. Saying I never have any nitrates, but have nitrates in my tap, amquel plus will make my end result as having no nitrates ??
__________________

__________________
pairenoid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2012, 07:54 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Mr. Crabs's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 346
Depends. If you are keeping live corals and inverts in a reef setup, I wouldn't use anything but RO/DI water...no need for Amquel as the resins strip chloramines.

If it is for a fish only tank, then I would use tap water with Amquel Plus for water changes. I personally prefer Prime, not for any specific reason though. My tap water is pretty good in my area, and being my tank is an FOWLR (Fish only with live rock) I take a 5 gallon bucket, add salt, fill the bucket with tap water, then add twice the recommended dosage of Prime (=2 drops per gallon), and mix for one hour with a power head.

Modern salts mix into water very fast. Some tend to age water overnight to stabilize parameters, but being that I don't keep sensitive corals anymore, an hour of circulating seems to work fine for my needs.
__________________

__________________
where's me money
Mr. Crabs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2012, 03:48 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
bavass's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Waynesboro Virginia
Posts: 1,797
amquel does not get everything out. The best option is to buy an RO/DI unit will save you lots of money
__________________
bavass is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2012, 04:32 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
pairenoid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 379
thanks mr crab
__________________
pairenoid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2012, 06:01 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: new york
Posts: 1,321
Bavass has it correct between gas, traveling for the water paying for the water and using amquel its costing you far more then a good ro/di unit will cost. It will pay for itself in no time. Also whenever possible its always a good idea to keep the water at least overnight to allow the salt to disolve and the water to stabilize.
__________________
tonedogz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2012, 09:57 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
pairenoid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 379
if i leave it in over night, wouldnt it not work?since its temporary
__________________
pairenoid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2012, 10:43 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: new york
Posts: 1,321
Are you talking about the amquel, if you are you wouldn't be using it anymore since you would have an ro/di unit
__________________
tonedogz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2012, 01:10 AM   #8
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
pairenoid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 379
well i can get a ro unit in the future, but not within 3 months so i would have to be without it for a while
__________________
pairenoid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2012, 09:08 AM   #9
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
bavass's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Waynesboro Virginia
Posts: 1,797
if i am no mistaken Amquel only removes ammonia, and chlorine. But there are a lot of other things in tap water that can be removed with RO/DI. Phostphates, nitrates, tds, silicates etc... all that can cause algae issues later
__________________
bavass is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2012, 11:32 AM   #10
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
pairenoid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 379
says right on the cover, removes and detoxifies:
ammonia, nitrate, nitrite, chlorine, chloramine

i have amquel PLUS. Look, i know what ro is, i just asked if amquel is real and if it works..i already knew a few people would come in here telling me to buy a ro unit though..
__________________

__________________
pairenoid is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
amquel, water, water changes

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:24 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.