Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Old 08-24-2006, 08:36 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Freak

Side rims or no rims?

I am buying a 6 foot x 1.5 f widex 2f high tank and have the option whether to have it rimless or with corner rims to add extra protection. I must admit it doesn't look nice with the rim but feel better that the corners are reinforced.

With this tank 2 foot high they are using 10mm glass is it ok or safe if I don't want the corner rims? Will a tank give way easily without the rims? Or just depend the type of silicone they use?

I need to make a decision today since they just starting building it up for me. Please help... Thanks in advance.

Old 08-24-2006, 09:06 PM   #2
Tex
Aquarium Advice Freak

Well, as an engineer I'd go for the rims, especially on a tank that size. I could engage everybody in a discussion on force vectors and hydrostatic and hydrodynamic pressures but I'll spare you the pain.

Old 08-24-2006, 09:08 PM   #3
Tex
Aquarium Advice Freak

On second thought, is the tank glass or acryllic?
Old 08-24-2006, 09:11 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Freak

It is a glass tank therefore I am a bit worry. The glass is 10mm think I am not worry about that just the corners I am worry it can't withstand the force of the water pressure. If there are rims there will be extra layer of silicone there to re-inforce it but it WILL NOT look nice.
Old 08-24-2006, 09:32 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Addict

well, as an engineer as well, and knowing a few tank builders, If you mean the bits of angle on the corners don't bother..They are for cosmetic purposes only and offer absolutly no structural strength whatsoever.