Side rims or no rims?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

weekf

Aquarium Advice Freak
I am buying a 6 foot x 1.5 f widex 2f high tank and have the option whether to have it rimless or with corner rims to add extra protection. I must admit it doesn't look nice with the rim but feel better that the corners are reinforced.

With this tank 2 foot high they are using 10mm glass is it ok or safe if I don't want the corner rims? Will a tank give way easily without the rims? Or just depend the type of silicone they use?

I need to make a decision today since they just starting building it up for me. Please help... Thanks in advance.

Well, as an engineer I'd go for the rims, especially on a tank that size. I could engage everybody in a discussion on force vectors and hydrostatic and hydrodynamic pressures but I'll spare you the pain.

It is a glass tank therefore I am a bit worry. The glass is 10mm think I am not worry about that just the corners I am worry it can't withstand the force of the water pressure. If there are rims there will be extra layer of silicone there to re-inforce it but it WILL NOT look nice.

well, as an engineer as well, and knowing a few tank builders, If you mean the bits of angle on the corners don't bother..They are for cosmetic purposes only and offer absolutly no structural strength whatsoever.
If you mean the strapping around the top edges of the tank that the lids sit on, yes bother. it is essential as it IS a main part of the structural strength of the tank.

they are using 10mm glass is it ok or safe if I don't want the corner rims?
Yes it is safe. btw any tank above 20" high is required to have 10mm+ glass.
What I did was had the front glass panel glued on with black silicone..and if they are a good tank builder it will be trimmed in a nice neat line and look fantastic.