Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 04-07-2003, 02:14 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: St. Louis
Posts: 9
Silly hydrometer question

We recently purchased the Coralife deep six hydrometer. On the package it says the you should season the needle for 24 hours in water. What it does not say is what kind of water to use. Fresh or salt?

If the answer is salt then what do you do in a new startup tank that you don't know if the salinity is not correct?
__________________

__________________
saltyrenee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2003, 02:27 PM   #2
AA Team Emeritus
 
reefrunner69's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Cedar Key, FL
Posts: 1,663
I used FW for mine, and to be honest....I've used them without seasoning them at all. When you first fill it up, there are going to be air bubbles sticking to it everywhere, tap them off and let it sit.
__________________

__________________
Kevin

Visit Nature Coast Photography
reefrunner69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2003, 02:35 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: St. Louis
Posts: 9
I assumed FW. I don't know how you could season it with saltwater assuming the each persons water would have a slightly different salinity. I really wish they would have made it clear on the package. The reason this is coming up: I read a review this morning on eopinon.com and they mentioned using saltwater to season the needle.
__________________
saltyrenee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2003, 04:10 PM   #4
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
I did not season mine, I used it from the get go. I have had my water tested at the LFS and the same results were made so, I wonder why you would have to season it at all?
__________________
  Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2003, 05:35 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
PrettyFishies's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Durham, NC
Posts: 1,689
I Noticed that too...Salty Renee... I am using freswater to season mine... 3 hours, 20 minutes and... 23,24,25 Seconds to go...
__________________
125 gal mixed REEF
PrettyFishies is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2003, 09:57 PM   #6
AA Team Emeritus
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Chatsworth, GA
Posts: 4,071
Send a message via Yahoo to loganj
I never seasoned the one I have. Didn't read the instructions . It agrees with one of the Seatest hydrometers I have so I guess it's OK.
Logan J
__________________
Life is not measured by the number of breaths we take, but by the moments that take our breath away.
Logan J
loganj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2003, 10:06 PM   #7
AA Team Emeritus
 
michealprater's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Highland , IL
Posts: 2,311
Send a message via Yahoo to michealprater
I did not season mine either. However I did take it to the LFS and have them compare it to there high dollar tester to see how accurate it was. It wasnt accurate but pretty close.
__________________
michealprater is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2003, 12:15 AM   #8
AA Team Emeritus
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Chatsworth, GA
Posts: 4,071
Send a message via Yahoo to loganj
I have, after checking several different hydrometers with the same water sample, come to the conclusion that pretty close is as good as it's going to get with them. A refractometer is high on my list of "gotta haves". If you can have your hydrometer checked against a refractometer or an electronic salinity tester, that will give you an idea how much it's off and you can correct for the difference.
Logan J
__________________
Life is not measured by the number of breaths we take, but by the moments that take our breath away.
Logan J
loganj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2003, 11:05 AM   #9
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
PrettyFishies's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Durham, NC
Posts: 1,689
I also bought the Seatest hydrometer so I'd have that to compare to the Deep Six...
__________________
125 gal mixed REEF
PrettyFishies is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2003, 05:32 PM   #10
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 105
No longer have to worry about that. Bought a refractometer.
__________________

__________________
SW Beginner is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
hydrometer

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
You know those silly people who have absolutely no eye for balance? ha. Silly... cinnastix911 Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 5 06-26-2008 08:48 PM
hydrometer question? dorian965 Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 4 11-29-2005 11:23 AM
Really silly question fishieguy Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 25 10-12-2004 10:23 PM
Hydrometer question... ScurdOfCychlidz General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 12 09-10-2004 08:12 PM
Hydrometer question!! kalani Saltwater Reef Aquaria 12 08-09-2004 02:04 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:25 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.