Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 02-06-2013, 06:18 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
aquariumman123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 11
skimmer?

hey everyone! i am new at saltwater and i have been doing research. from what i read i can use a skimmer instead of filter.

my plan is a 55-75 gallon aquarium( haven't decided) i am planning on lots of live rock a very good cleanup crew. is it ok if i use a skimmer instead of a filter?
__________________

__________________
aquariumman123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2013, 06:51 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Ingy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Comox, BC, Canada
Posts: 1,837
If by OK you mean better...yes
__________________

__________________
Ingy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2013, 06:55 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Flaxon-Waxon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: NH
Posts: 2,788
I would get a HOB and run it anyways. You will have the ability to run carbon or GFO (not the most effective method, but it will work) if need be... I run an AquaClear 70 with a sponge and GFO, in conjunction with a skimmer...
__________________
Flaxon-Waxon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2013, 08:30 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
MikeYQM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 489
Absolutely. Forget about the filter. There is no need to waste your money on one. Get a skimmer rated for 100-120 gallons as a boy of overkill is good.
__________________
MikeYQM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2013, 08:40 PM   #5
Giant Clam Addict
Community Admin
 
Sniperhank's Avatar



POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Summerville, Pennsylvania
Posts: 18,549
Quote:
Originally Posted by MikeYQM View Post
Absolutely. Forget about the filter. There is no need to waste your money on one. Get a skimmer rated for 100-120 gallons as a boy of overkill is good.
Agreed. If it comes down to wanting to run carbon or any other filter media down the road, HOB filters are doable but not as effective as reactors. You can get reactors for pretty cheap down the road if you find yourself at that point.
Sniperhank is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2013, 09:28 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
MikeYQM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 489
And you are just as well running the media in a mesh bag if you're not set up with a reactor.
__________________
MikeYQM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2013, 06:39 AM   #7
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Flaxon-Waxon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: NH
Posts: 2,788
Quote:
Originally Posted by MikeYQM View Post
And you are just as well running the media in a mesh bag if you're not set up with a reactor.
And if there is no filter how should this be done? There is no mention of a sump here, and you cannot just drop a mesh bag in a display tank... I understand what you are trying to say, but in a simple set up like this, a HOB filter would help. If there was a sump being used, then obviously no need.
__________________
Flaxon-Waxon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2013, 06:41 AM   #8
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Flaxon-Waxon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: NH
Posts: 2,788
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sniperhank View Post

Agreed. If it comes down to wanting to run carbon or any other filter media down the road, HOB filters are doable but not as effective as reactors. You can get reactors for pretty cheap down the road if you find yourself at that point.
Agreed about a cheap reactor, but they are more effective running them in a sump. You will also have an unsightly pump in the display tank to have to look at...
__________________
Flaxon-Waxon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2013, 11:09 AM   #9
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
STP wellsophyllia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 79
I have my setup as a loaded refugium sith a sock filter and protien skimmer. I have a large canister filter on the outside with carbon and phosban filters. We just recently added a uv sterilizer and have an external filtration sysem in our chiller.. Dont be afraid to do to much! wont hurt your coral in the long run if you do it correctly! happy reefkeeping!
__________________
STP wellsophyllia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2013, 11:12 AM   #10
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
mr_X's Avatar


 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Fairless Hills, Pa.
Posts: 17,895
Send a message via MSN to mr_X
Quote:
Originally Posted by MikeYQM View Post
And you are just as well running the media in a mesh bag if you're not set up with a reactor.
I'm sorry, but passive media (hanging somewhere in a mesh bag) is no where near as effective as forcing water through it.
__________________

__________________
thanks,
Doug
mr_X is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
skimmer

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:21 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.