Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 08-25-2004, 01:10 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: San Diego
Posts: 215
Skimmer in Sump Question

I have a Rubbermaid trash can as my sump. It is 15 inches square and about 30 inches tall. If I put a skimmer in the sump low enough to submerge the skimmer's pump, then when the power goes out or I turn the sump pump off, the whole skimmer will be submerged as the water level rises in the sump. If I raise the level of the whole skimmer inside the sump so that the top will be above the high water mark, then the skimmer's pump will not be in the water at its normal running level. What do I do???
__________________

__________________
For since the creation of the world God's invisible qualities...have been clearly seen, being understood from what has been made, so that men are without excuse. (Romans 1:20)
johnkristie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2004, 02:12 AM   #2
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Montana, Billings
Posts: 267
Send a message via ICQ to nyghtone Send a message via AIM to nyghtone Send a message via MSN to nyghtone Send a message via Yahoo to nyghtone
Haha, you just have to submerge it so that the pump is under the water at normal running conditions, if the power does go out and fill the sump, your skimmer getting covered isn't exactly the biggest problem that you have!!!

If you have a good skimmer it shouldn't even release much from the collection cup back into the water. Good question though.

Just for curiosity sake, why don't you get a shorter sump??? I use a 20 gallon fish tank that I got at a thrift store for 4.99, and it works great, haha...???
__________________

__________________
Today is a good day, at least it was last time that I checked, haha...

www.nyghtone.com
nyghtone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2004, 12:17 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: San Diego
Posts: 215
I've thought about getting a shorter sump, but it would require a lot of work to redo the system, so I'm trying to work with what I have for now. I've got the sump calibrated so that it won't overflow during a power outage, but I have it so that it does fill right to the top in order to maximize my water volume. I'm not worried about covering the sump so much as releasing back into the water what the skimmer has already worked to remove. Any other suggestions??
__________________
For since the creation of the world God's invisible qualities...have been clearly seen, being understood from what has been made, so that men are without excuse. (Romans 1:20)
johnkristie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2004, 01:13 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Texas
Posts: 1,152
Send a message via Yahoo to fishman
Just curious...what type of skimmer is it?
__________________
fishman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2004, 07:19 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Cochranville PA
Posts: 698
sorry, bad idea
__________________
A lot of ripples make a wave
darb2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2004, 07:00 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: San Diego
Posts: 215
It's a Turboflotor 1000 Multi.
__________________
For since the creation of the world God's invisible qualities...have been clearly seen, being understood from what has been made, so that men are without excuse. (Romans 1:20)
johnkristie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2004, 09:53 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: la florida
Posts: 57
Send a message via AIM to swiftwing7
put the skimmer on stilts or a stand so it is farther out of the water and leave the pump submerged. Then boost the pump up as much as possible so it can deal with higher height
__________________
swiftwing7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2004, 06:52 AM   #8
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Omicron Persia 8
Posts: 693
Mount your skimmer to a big styrafoam raft so it will rise and fall with water levels!
__________________
indy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2004, 09:32 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: la florida
Posts: 57
Send a message via AIM to swiftwing7
Quote:
Originally Posted by indy
Mount your skimmer to a big styrafoam raft so it will rise and fall with water levels!
Then just hang the motor below it and let it float around in your display tank!!

Good thinking Indy!
__________________

__________________
swiftwing7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
skimmer, sump

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
sump / skimmer dawgfan89 General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 5 02-21-2009 11:10 PM
skimmer in sump steve r Saltwater Reef Aquaria 2 12-27-2004 07:16 PM
skimmer on a sump? thisanthrope Saltwater Reef Aquaria 6 07-23-2003 09:32 PM
Sump and skimmer question oujeeper Saltwater Reef Aquaria 3 12-27-2002 09:41 AM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:48 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.