So... New tank...

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Sleeperr34

Aquarium Advice Freak
So the other day my gf decided that we need a bigger tank. The 55 is not big enough. So..... She picks out a 210g..... This is going to be fun.

Now. I'm still new to this and Lear I g a lot. I want reef. But every fish she picked out is not reef safe..... At all. The clean up crew would be gone in no time. Lol. And any help with some cool looking coral that I can show her would be great.

But if I stick to a fowlr. What kinda of filtration should I use that would be best for the tank and still good if I want to change to reef later? And what to I do about cleaning The tank without snails being in it? And keeping Algee from building up to much in the than.

Good skimmer for this size tank.

Going to be a slow process to get it up in running. Still need to get a ro/di set up. And the money to set it up. So any help ideas I mean anything on this will help a lot. Will keep updates as things go along but am very excited about this. Always wanted a tank like this since I was a little kid. So going slow to make it right.

I'm going to kinda follow along in this build. As far as filtration I would go with the following: algae turf scrubber, sump with a fuge consisting of dsb macro algae and mangrove, skimmer. This is by far the best set up and for natural filtration and the best down the road. Some corals to look at are green star polyps, mushrooms, leather corals, zoas, some Lps like candy Cain, hammer coral, torch, then the Sps such as acros, birds nest. Etc. It all depends on the lighting you want. Let's start off with a few basic questions:
1. Do you want just fish? (Ie aggressive)
2. Do you want a reef tank dominated by corals?
3. What type of fish are you interested in? Color shape?
4. What's your budged like ?