Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Old 06-28-2007, 07:30 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Apprentice

Soft Water Softeners

Hi I'm a noob to the site, lots of great info here. I have been reading books, as well as this site and will have my tank here in about 4 weeks. I already have all of my equipment. I have a FW tank but this is my first SW tank. I will have a 100 gal.

My question:

I have a soft water softener in my house. The water here in San Diego is very hard. Currently my system uses Potassium to soften the water. It can also use salt, but I prefer to use the more pricey Potassium pellets as this does not add sodium to the water, and is ok for watering my plants.

Is this ok for my new tank? If not I have an outside line which I can access pretty easily that has a bypass to the soft water system. I have not tested the water yet. I will be treating the water as well to get rid of chlorine.

Thx Mark

Old 06-29-2007, 10:36 AM   #2
AA Team Emeritus

Send a message via AIM to roka64 Send a message via Yahoo to roka64
Soft Water Softeners

I have a water softener in my house and I use the salt pellets. I don't have any problems watering my plants. I doubt it really puts that much salt into the system. A 40Lbs bag will last me about 6 months or so. I don't know much about potassium other than it helps relieve cramps.....

Questions loved, heeded advice greatly appreciated!

Vote for AA
Good reading about:
Nitrogen Cycle
Fishless Cycling
Need more help?
Articles
Acronym List

--Scott
roka64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2007, 01:13 PM   #3

Thanks roka, so if I switch back to salt this should be ok to use in the tank. I'm sure I will still have to condition the water though.

Mark
Old 06-29-2007, 01:41 PM   #4
AA Team Emeritus