Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 04-26-2005, 07:27 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Salttanker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Prosper, TX.
Posts: 1,297
Soft Water Unit...

Does, or has anyone used a soft water unit for their aquarium? My new house will be ready in a couple of months and I had them install a soft water unit in the house because the water out here is terrible. I have been using an RO unit and haven't had any problems with it.
I would like to know if the soft water system will be suitable, and if not, should I purchase an RO/DI unit once again? This is simply a FOWLR with inverts.

I look forward to your feedback. Thanks

Mike
__________________

__________________
Salttanker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2005, 07:32 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Salttanker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Prosper, TX.
Posts: 1,297
Also, would I need to treat it with dechlorinator, calcium, pH buffer, Iodine, etc.

Mike
__________________

__________________
Salttanker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2005, 08:02 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: illinois
Posts: 187
it cant hurt to be safe
__________________
pluk1992 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2005, 09:25 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Salttanker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Prosper, TX.
Posts: 1,297
Does anyone out there use a soft water unit for their home? I can't seem to find any information on this regarding marine aquariums.

Anyone?

Mike
__________________
Salttanker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2005, 09:28 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: texas
Posts: 1,510
http://www.aquariumpharm.com/articles/gh-kh.asp
This article explains how a softener affects marine aquariums.
__________________
Good luck! Kat
90 malawia cichlid
55 planted tropical community
http://www.aquarank.com/in.php?id=fishfree
electrikat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2005, 09:29 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Salttanker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Prosper, TX.
Posts: 1,297
Thanks Kat!

Mike
__________________
Salttanker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2005, 09:30 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: texas
Posts: 1,510
http://www.aquariumpharm.com/articles/gh-kh.asp
I'm trying it again, but I googled water softener marine aquarium
and this was the first one.
__________________
Good luck! Kat
90 malawia cichlid
55 planted tropical community
http://www.aquarank.com/in.php?id=fishfree
electrikat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2005, 09:31 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: texas
Posts: 1,510
Our highlighted parts are messing up the web address. You will need to cut and paste it into your browser. all the way to "asp"
__________________
Good luck! Kat
90 malawia cichlid
55 planted tropical community
http://www.aquarank.com/in.php?id=fishfree
electrikat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2005, 09:35 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Salttanker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Prosper, TX.
Posts: 1,297
Yeah..I saw that. So the water softner is referred to as a pillow softener? I surprised there isn't a bunch of information out there regarding this. I can't be the only one using a water softner in the house?!? 8O

Mike
__________________
Salttanker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2005, 09:25 AM   #10
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Coopersburg, PA
Posts: 82
A water softener is typically used when source water has a high calcium or magnesium content. The softener then removes/replaces the ions in these 2 minerals. The answer to your question probably lies in the results of the initial water test that convinced you to install the softener. The softened water will only be deprived of calcium and magnesium, and have a bit more sodium. Whatever else was in there to start, is still there. FWIW, I have a softener and will soon be buying an RO/Di unit. HTH.
__________________

__________________
OneBowl is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
soft, unit

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New RO/DI Unit and Soft Corals themangia1984 New Acquisitions 2 12-11-2008 09:04 AM
soft water Phoenixphire55 Cichlid Discussion 1 02-09-2008 11:14 AM
RO/DI unit: Soft or hard water? Todd Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 2 04-27-2005 09:34 AM
Water - from soft to hard, back to soft again Pugwinkle Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 6 05-27-2004 02:01 AM
Soft water jobeck1 Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 7 03-26-2004 11:14 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:29 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.