Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 10-09-2014, 06:03 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
daney90's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 523
Solid precipitate on my sump

I've been dosing for ~6 months now and I just recently cleaned my sump due to its white solid deposits on the glass that took me a day to scrubbed it off.

Right now I'm using kent salt and it gives me fairly high calcium reading and a low calcium. So I dose my tank with aquavitro (eight.four) a KH buffer to have 8.5dkh at 450 ppm calcium. I have my doser set 21 ml/day of the eight.four in my sump where I put my return pump.

How can I stop this solid precipitate? or should I be cleaning my sump every 3 months and scape this white thing?
__________________

__________________
daney90 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2014, 11:29 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
jeffaquarius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 1,933
What is your magnesium reading?
__________________

__________________
"Nothing great in the world has ever been accomplished without passion". George Wilhelm Friedrich Hegel

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=90w86...A434PW3gEa1-QA
jeffaquarius is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2014, 11:33 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
daney90's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 523
It was 1400
__________________
daney90 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2014, 11:40 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
jeffaquarius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 1,933
It was? Precipitation can be caused by low magnesium and dosing with calcium. Do you stagger dosing of alk and calcium?
__________________
"Nothing great in the world has ever been accomplished without passion". George Wilhelm Friedrich Hegel

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=90w86...A434PW3gEa1-QA
jeffaquarius is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2014, 11:44 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
daney90's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 523
I used to dose both when I was using reef crystal as my salt. Now that I switched to kent salt, it's calcium was really high so I stopped dosing my calcium supp and continue my alk.
__________________
daney90 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2014, 11:51 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Mebbid's Avatar



POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Michigan USA
Posts: 12,569
Sounds like you have a little too much calcium causing it to precipitate out. At 8.5dKH you are at 3 meq/L of alkalinity

Check out this link.
Chemistry And The Aquarium: Solving Calcium And Alkalinity Problems ‚€” Advanced Aquarist | Aquarist Magazine and Blog
__________________
"The simplest explanation for some phenomenon is more likely to be accurate than more complicated explanations." -Occam's razor
Mebbid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2014, 11:59 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
daney90's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 523
Is 8.5dkh too much? I remember when I stopped dosing my alkalinity would dip down to 5dkh.
__________________
daney90 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2014, 12:07 AM   #8
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Mebbid's Avatar



POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Michigan USA
Posts: 12,569
Nope, not at all. Its just the calcium, magnesium, and alkalinity have to balance each other out to stop from precipitating.


How is the flow where youre dosing the alkalinity?
__________________
"The simplest explanation for some phenomenon is more likely to be accurate than more complicated explanations." -Occam's razor
Mebbid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2014, 01:04 AM   #9
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
daney90's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 523
I have the lines placed on my 3rd compartment of my sump where the return pump is at.
__________________
daney90 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2014, 01:22 AM   #10
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Mebbid's Avatar



POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Michigan USA
Posts: 12,569
Quote:
Originally Posted by daney90 View Post
I have the lines placed on my 3rd compartment of my sump where the return pump is at.
I would first try adding some more turbulence into that compartment. There's a decent gallonage flow in the last compartment normally; but it's rarely turbulent enough from what I've seen.
__________________

__________________
"The simplest explanation for some phenomenon is more likely to be accurate than more complicated explanations." -Occam's razor
Mebbid is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
ate, sump

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
precipitate iron timwag2001 Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks 12 04-16-2009 12:05 AM
DIY Auto Top Off with Solid State Relay Serge DIY Projects 40 04-26-2006 07:27 AM
Four plus solid hours BrianNY Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks 7 11-13-2005 12:11 AM
brown precipitate rokcrawla Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 3 09-24-2004 03:07 AM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:25 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.