Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 01-25-2003, 01:11 PM   #11
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Nottingham, UK
Posts: 38
correction Nitrite 1.6PPM
__________________

__________________
Anyone want a sked on HF? - M3BSK

Don't know what I am talking about, visit http://www.arrl.org/ and www.rsgb.org
pioneer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2003, 01:56 PM   #12
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
That is dangerously high, but not as bad as ammonia being that high... It will subside and when it does, you will see it go down pretty quick.. If you have no Ammonia reading, the process is doing exactly what it should be doing... what kind of de-nitrator are you using? BioZyme? Dolphin Pharm.? Hagen Cycle? I found that the nitrate rose substantially when I used Bio Zyme. However, In time it has fallen to 10 ppm and I have 0 nitrite and 0 ammon. It has been 3 months and quite a few water changes. Water changes will definately decrease nitrates if you use RO/DI water...
__________________
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2003, 02:07 PM   #13
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Nottingham, UK
Posts: 38
OK, well that makes me feel a bit better. The de-nitrator I am using is made by a German Company called Aqua Medic, it contains Deniballs which are biodegradable plastic. It sits under the tank and water is pumped into the reaction chamber, and then pumped back into the tank at about 0.5 pint per hour. I am not familiar with the ones you mention as I presume these are US manufacture. I am in the UK and I have not heard of these makes before. I have not used RO water yet as I wanted to get the tank habitable before trying something new.
Learning something new every minute, so apologises if any of my questions sound stupid. When would be a good time to introduce livestock?.
__________________
Anyone want a sked on HF? - M3BSK

Don't know what I am talking about, visit http://www.arrl.org/ and www.rsgb.org
pioneer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2003, 02:36 PM   #14
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
The only stupid question is the one that is not asked....Everyone here to help and all of us here to learn, that is what makes the wheel go 'round.
__________________
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2003, 02:40 PM   #15
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Nottingham, UK
Posts: 38
Thanks, in that casehttp://www.aquariumadvice.com/images/smiles/icon_biggrin.gif how can I reduce the number of bubbles that my protein skimmer is pushing back in to the tank. I have got the skimmer on the lowest tap setting (i.e. reduced outflow), and it flows through two outflow boxes (on different levels) which also have some foam in them, but it still chucks out more bubbles than you can shake a stick at.
__________________
Anyone want a sked on HF? - M3BSK

Don't know what I am talking about, visit http://www.arrl.org/ and www.rsgb.org
pioneer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2003, 02:40 PM   #16
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
When the Nitrite is down to 0 ppm. Using the fishless method is something I did not do, and my fish I am sure went through He$$ and back again until the water got right...Believe me, I wouldn't do it today, if I got a new system. Be patient and wait for the 0 ppm to show. It will be sooner than you think. Mab a week or so, I can't tell. It is nature that takes its course now.
__________________
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2003, 03:23 PM   #17
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Nottingham, UK
Posts: 38
Thanks I will just sit back and relax, can you comment on my Skimmer problem on my last post?
__________________
Anyone want a sked on HF? - M3BSK

Don't know what I am talking about, visit http://www.arrl.org/ and www.rsgb.org
pioneer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2003, 09:29 PM   #18
AA Team Emeritus
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Louisiana
Posts: 7,224
Send a message via Yahoo to Hara
Live sand/coral will increase nitrate levels for a little while. I had this experience when I added live coral substrate to my seahorse tank.
__________________

__________________
Hara is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Same old question.. but i need reassurance... asudavew Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 2 05-15-2009 09:41 PM
I might be Stupid but I need some reassurance fredcabintoy Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 10 11-06-2008 09:35 PM
Need Reassurance NiGeR1986 Saltwater Fish Only & FOWLR 2 08-11-2008 11:18 PM
Lots of Drama - Could Just Use some Reassurance aquanewbie72 Freshwater & Brackish - Unhealthy Fish 8 02-02-2006 02:30 PM
Starting my first reef tank. Pls tag along and help. Pls... PotysGSXR Saltwater Reef Aquaria 4 04-18-2005 07:00 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:52 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.