Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 05-22-2012, 10:22 PM   #11
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Hondatek's Avatar



POTM Champion
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Virginia Beach
Posts: 3,969
The new ones are a lot better. I still use mostly koralias anyways.
__________________

__________________
Feed your Filtration
Give it to Porc Chop he'll eat anything!!!!!
"This is my tank and these other fish just live in it"
^ Quoted from Porc Chop^
Hondatek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2012, 10:30 PM   #12
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Schism's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Lima, Ohio
Posts: 2,093
Im still not impressed in the least with them. I have about 5 of them i use for various things but ive had multiple failures, and the powerhead configuration is too direct, always leaving more dead spots.

Koralias are quiet, pretty good quality and the performance is up there with any pump besides vortechs for the most part. Also hydor has great service, ive had no problems getting free replacement parts fast under warranty also with a simple email. Worth the little extra money in my opinion.
__________________

__________________
29g Mixed Reef, 150w 14k Phoenix MH w/ Moonlights, Reef Octopus BH1000 HOB Skimmer, Ecotech Vortech MP10es, ReefKeeper Lite (Plus), PH Probe, Temp Probe, ATO, Carbon/GFO Reactor.
Schism is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2012, 10:37 PM   #13
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Hondatek's Avatar



POTM Champion
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Virginia Beach
Posts: 3,969
No doubt about that. I have had the old maxi and the new ones and there is a difference . Still prefer koralias.
__________________
Feed your Filtration
Give it to Porc Chop he'll eat anything!!!!!
"This is my tank and these other fish just live in it"
^ Quoted from Porc Chop^
Hondatek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2012, 10:55 PM   #14
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
barterking85's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Canada, Nova Scotia
Posts: 2,532
I am just trying to understand the price difference here in Canada the maxi jets are 19.99$ for the 500gph and for the koralia 59.99$ for the 550 gph?? That's a big jump is there anything in between price and quality?
__________________
My biggest worry is that when I'm dead my wife will sell my aquarium gear for what I "SAID" I paid for it.
Ryan
barterking85 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2012, 12:18 AM   #15
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Hondatek's Avatar



POTM Champion
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Virginia Beach
Posts: 3,969
There is a very big difference. Check if petmountain .com will ship to Canada . I have my third koralia coming from them tomorrow . Paid $32 us dollars plus shipping for the 1050 gph model. If I remember right the 500gph is around $20 us .
__________________
Feed your Filtration
Give it to Porc Chop he'll eat anything!!!!!
"This is my tank and these other fish just live in it"
^ Quoted from Porc Chop^
Hondatek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2012, 12:48 AM   #16
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Flreefer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: SW Florida
Posts: 1,984
I've had some of the old Maxi-jets running for close to 8 years, and besides the mounts being crappy, I've never had an issue with them.
After reading reviews of the Koralias running backwards and being loud on a wavemaker at startup, I decided to get 2 of the new Cobalt Aquatics 1200's to replace 2 aging Maxis.
They are quiet and can blow current the full 6 feet of my tank with some decent force.
With the aftermarket magnet mounts and some creative placement, I'm happy with the results.
I would love to get a couple MP 40 Ecotech's but since that would run me close to a GRAND!!, I'm happy with my $100+ decision.
I have 4-1200's in my 180 on a wavemaker, and my returns give me approximately 1500gph. Collectively there is plenty of flow, placement of the pumps is key to avoiding dead spots
__________________
Flreefer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2012, 01:05 AM   #17
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Schism's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Lima, Ohio
Posts: 2,093
Yes koralias can have problems on wavemaker ive experienced this first hand. But that is the only problem im aware of. Them running backwards is the result of the wavemaker however easily fixed with new free grilles from hydor shipped priority mail.
__________________
29g Mixed Reef, 150w 14k Phoenix MH w/ Moonlights, Reef Octopus BH1000 HOB Skimmer, Ecotech Vortech MP10es, ReefKeeper Lite (Plus), PH Probe, Temp Probe, ATO, Carbon/GFO Reactor.
Schism is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2012, 01:56 AM   #18
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
barterking85's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Canada, Nova Scotia
Posts: 2,532
Hmmmmm lots to think about

Now about a skimmer do I need it with my 205 sump ?
__________________
My biggest worry is that when I'm dead my wife will sell my aquarium gear for what I "SAID" I paid for it.
Ryan
barterking85 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2012, 04:53 AM   #19
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Schism's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Lima, Ohio
Posts: 2,093
Well you can do no skimmer, skimmer and makeshift sump or just skimmer.

No true need for a skimmer in this size tank. As long as your doing regular water changes and siphoning sandbed then you will be ok.
__________________
29g Mixed Reef, 150w 14k Phoenix MH w/ Moonlights, Reef Octopus BH1000 HOB Skimmer, Ecotech Vortech MP10es, ReefKeeper Lite (Plus), PH Probe, Temp Probe, ATO, Carbon/GFO Reactor.
Schism is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2012, 02:45 PM   #20
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
barterking85's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Canada, Nova Scotia
Posts: 2,532
Quote:
Originally Posted by Schism
Well you can do no skimmer, skimmer and makeshift sump or just skimmer.

No true need for a skimmer in this size tank. As long as your doing regular water changes and siphoning sandbed then you will be ok.
No need to worry about matience I love doing it and I am OCD lol if anything I am in there too much I am sure my fish think I live in there too

I think I will just go with my 205 sump for now and see how things go I can always add a hob skimmer later if I feel the need too

And for live rock I think I will go 25 lbs all live (little extra for the sump) and how many lbs of sand and do I need live sand?
__________________

__________________
My biggest worry is that when I'm dead my wife will sell my aquarium gear for what I "SAID" I paid for it.
Ryan
barterking85 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
40 gallon, reef, starting

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:21 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.