Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 07-18-2011, 03:13 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 40
Starting a sump?

Can you, and how do you make a sump for a tank that is not made to have one? I have an older tank and it does not have an over flow or anything. I wanted to start a small sump and put some frags in there with a light and start growing frags? Is this possible?
__________________

__________________
2g2ner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2011, 03:31 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Oxford,England
Posts: 1,384
yep,use an syphon overflow box and plumbing,there is plenty of threads explaining this method in the DIY section.I use the eshopps800
__________________

__________________
Old Chinese proverb:
Don't go to bed with ichy bum
wake up with smelly finger!!
David S is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2011, 04:14 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 40
Oh I'm sorry. I should have searched better. Thank you though!
__________________
2g2ner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2011, 03:30 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 111
I been thinking about making a wet dry sump as well.I been checking out YouTube.got lots of different ideas.check out my first drawing
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	image-2374082121.jpg
Views:	222
Size:	42.6 KB
ID:	44522  
__________________
Fozzy225 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2011, 03:44 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Oxford,England
Posts: 1,384
I would loose the sponge section and use some filter socks and clean them weekly,try to make the sump as large as you can as the return section looks to be small,but you've got the right idea.
__________________
Old Chinese proverb:
Don't go to bed with ichy bum
wake up with smelly finger!!
David S is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2011, 08:31 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 111
Thanks Dave.i'm up for suggestions I have an open mind.and I was thinking what to do about the sponge just not sure what to use.maybe a filter pad on top.and I was trying to leave room for water in the line in case of a power outage but I could make it bigger.Thanks

Those are bio balls on the left top... Lol
__________________
Fozzy225 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2011, 08:44 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 111
This is what I'm I been working on for the last 4 months.let's just say I'm hooked
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	image-3549512199.jpg
Views:	192
Size:	64.4 KB
ID:	44589  
__________________
Fozzy225 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2011, 09:07 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
scubasteve03's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: magnolia tx
Posts: 383
Looks good I like your idea for a sump
__________________
scubasteve03 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2011, 10:15 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 111
Thanks I have a great idea for the return as well I'll draw it up tomorrow
__________________
Fozzy225 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2011, 02:23 AM   #10
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
deepseadan's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: So cal
Posts: 166
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fozzy225
I been thinking about making a wet dry sump as well.I been checking out YouTube.got lots of different ideas.check out my first drawing
You could always check a professionally made sump/fuge and copy its design, but adjust the size to fit your setup. I personally own a ecosystem pro 4216 model and love it. Their sumps are designed for high flow. I run 2400 gallons an hour through mine which is great for the fuge part and main tank. You can never go to big. Just remember when designing your sump to leave enough room for a power outage. Many people including me have been very disappointed when we come home to a power outage and the check valve has let a trickle by for the last 10 hours and the floor is soaked. That's why this time I decided to go way overboard and get a huge sump. The added volume is always a benefit anyway. Last, watch out for sponges or filter pads, when they clog there's nowhere for the water to go. When a filter sock clogs and overflows, its goes into the sump anyway. Add a sock the simple way and purchase a $29 7" or 4" hang on sump holder.
__________________

__________________
deepseadan is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
starting, sump

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

« Info | Cleaning lr? »
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
fresh water sump user404 Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 2 07-18-2011 04:23 PM
How big of a sump do I need? cbc1989 DIY Projects 6 07-15-2011 05:18 PM
Sump Question FIIISSSHHH Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 4 07-12-2011 06:33 PM
Setting up a 75 gallon - need sump plumbing help :) catmel Saltwater Reef Aquaria 9 07-06-2011 05:24 PM
help with my sump JC_Biggs General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 5 06-30-2011 02:44 AM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:10 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.