Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 02-16-2011, 02:59 PM   #31
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Central Texas
Posts: 65
it was actually one that had been there awhile, i dug down into the bottom of the tank . haha made sure i got a good one
__________________

__________________
BayTib13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2011, 03:45 PM   #32
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
rush's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Ottawa, Canada
Posts: 349
lol, well im sure its coralline

the LR at our LFS doesnt stay around long enough to get coralline, barely even has time to cure lol
__________________

__________________
120 Gallon Reef

***Pics now on profile***
rush is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2011, 04:03 PM   #33
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Central Texas
Posts: 65
lol thats one of the pluses about not livin in a huge town, and the store bein downtown haha, nobody goes to it alot cause most peopledont know about it
__________________
BayTib13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2011, 06:36 PM   #34
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Central Texas
Posts: 65
So i checked all my levels today after having done a 5g water change yesterday, and my ammonia is down to ~0, my nitrite is trace, and my nitrates are 0.

But I did have a question, can the API tap water conditioner cause Ph to rise? if not what else can? As my Ph before was ~8. I got 5g of water, used the conditioner on it, let it sit a few minutes, then mixed up the salt into it to the proper SG. But now my Ph seems to be ~8.1 or 8.2, and other than what is stated nothing else was changed.

I'm not worried about the Ph level, as I was going to try to raise it, what I'm worried about is the random rise in it.
__________________
BayTib13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2011, 08:11 PM   #35
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
mr_X's Avatar


 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Fairless Hills, Pa.
Posts: 17,895
Send a message via MSN to mr_X
gas exchange at the water surface can raise ph. if you moved a power head perhaps, that might be enough to do it.
btw, i vote for getting the best light now. i've always started out with the right lighting, and haven't had any issues with algae. just keep the water clean.
__________________
thanks,
Doug
mr_X is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2011, 09:19 PM   #36
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Central Texas
Posts: 65
i did fill my tank a little higher this time, so my HOB filter isnt flowing down and bubbling into the aquarium, instead its hitting the water and sort of rolling out of the filter. maybe thats what caused it
__________________
BayTib13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2011, 10:37 PM   #37
member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 2,667
Why are you using water conditioner? Are you using tap water to make saltwater? If so you are probably setting yourself up for serious problems with algae. If you are using RO/DI you don't need the conditioner.
__________________
Fishguy2727 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2011, 10:51 PM   #38
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Central Texas
Posts: 65
I'm using tap water yes, my parents used the same water with their aquarium and never had any problems, so hopefuly I wont either, if anything just some extra water changes/cleaning. My local petsmart has a RO but right now I don't have the money for it. May look into it when I get my tax return.
__________________
BayTib13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2011, 11:20 PM   #39
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
mr_X's Avatar


 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Fairless Hills, Pa.
Posts: 17,895
Send a message via MSN to mr_X
the trouble with tap water is that you are putting in "algae fuel" with every water change. it can be an up hill battle for some.
__________________
thanks,
Doug
mr_X is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2011, 11:41 PM   #40
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Central Texas
Posts: 65
ahhh, this would probably explain why the diatoms i got rid of by doin a pwc, came back with a vengeance.

are there any brands that yall would recommend over others? for ro/di? what does di stand for btw?
__________________

__________________
BayTib13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
coral, starting

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Will a hammerhead coral and/or bubble coral kill a seahorse? brm Saltwater Reef Aquaria 2 02-02-2011 12:41 AM
Sand/Coral bottom OK for brain coral? Dsnod General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 1 08-19-2010 02:36 PM
Coral frags, LARGE coral rock 4 sale clowninround Archive 0 03-26-2007 08:49 PM
Starting a coral farm reefmaster Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 0 08-16-2006 07:29 PM
Starting the SW hobby with coral propagation? Billsgate Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 10 04-11-2006 05:46 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:06 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.