Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 07-30-2012, 12:16 PM   #71
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
00youknowit00's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Montgomery, Texas
Posts: 1,562
Quote:
Originally Posted by bavass

Yes i would up it. The test kit is giving you a false reading its higher than you think and see, the cyano will consume it before you can test for it. I would get a better test kit for sure like a Hanna 736. The others are hard to read at lower levels its nice having a digital output. I would up it see what its like in a few days and change it every 2 weeks
Well when I change the gfo ill up it. Ill think about the hanna checker, I dunno though. Ill see if I can get it to go away before I buy that.
__________________

__________________
The hardest thing about this hobby, is having a budget..
Everyone has questions
00youknowit00 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2012, 01:53 PM   #72
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
00youknowit00's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Montgomery, Texas
Posts: 1,562
Got some ro/di from a friend. Just did a 4 gallon change. We'll see if I can tell a difference. Like if it stops spreading or slows or what.
__________________

__________________
The hardest thing about this hobby, is having a budget..
Everyone has questions
00youknowit00 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2012, 04:23 PM   #73
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Rutrag's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Richmond, VA
Posts: 1,133
If I remember correctly, phosphate kits only measure inorganic phosphates, while the vast majority of phosphate encountered in an aquarium environment are organic and don't show up on the kits at all. It is entirely possible to read 0 phosphates on a kit and have all kinds of cyano fertilizer in your tank. I think the route of upping the GFO used is the way to go because I understand this binds both organic and inorganic.
__________________
It is a violation of federal law to use this product in a manner inconsistent with its labelling.
Rutrag is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2012, 04:25 PM   #74
Giant Clam Addict
Community Admin
 
Sniperhank's Avatar



POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Summerville, Pennsylvania
Posts: 18,543
Correct. Our kits do not test for organic phosphates.
Sniperhank is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2012, 04:26 PM   #75
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
00youknowit00's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Montgomery, Texas
Posts: 1,562
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rutrag
If I remember correctly, phosphate kits only measure inorganic phosphates, while the vast majority of phosphate encountered in an aquarium environment are organic and don't show up on the kits at all. It is entirely possible to read 0 phosphates on a kit and have all kinds of cyano fertilizer in your tank. I think the route of upping the GFO used is the way to go because I understand this binds both organic and inorganic.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sniperhank
Correct. Our kits do not test for organic phosphates.
Then ill up the gfo and see how it helps for sure.
__________________
The hardest thing about this hobby, is having a budget..
Everyone has questions
00youknowit00 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2012, 04:44 PM   #76
member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Midwest
Posts: 585
Quote:
Originally Posted by reefrunner69

Please don't be so defensive, I was not questioning your results, just clarifying which water and stating I found the results interesting.
Sorry. I'm so use to arguing about this it's become 2nd nature.
__________________
Crabs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2012, 12:23 AM   #77
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
00youknowit00's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Montgomery, Texas
Posts: 1,562
Im about to up the GFO to double, hope it helps.
__________________
The hardest thing about this hobby, is having a budget..
Everyone has questions
00youknowit00 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2012, 07:24 PM   #78
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
00youknowit00's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Montgomery, Texas
Posts: 1,562
So how possible is it that the problem is that I'm using ro water not ro/di? I wanna suck some of this crud out but I used all the ro/di my friend gave me.
__________________
The hardest thing about this hobby, is having a budget..
Everyone has questions
00youknowit00 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2012, 09:05 PM   #79
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
00youknowit00's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Montgomery, Texas
Posts: 1,562
Okay, I upped flow by adding my 600gph korilla on top of everything else. And I reduced the lights to: 10k's 6hrs, actinics 8hrs.

Did a 4gallon water change using only airline tubing to take the water out hahaha. Sucked out as much cyano as I possibly could. Looks so much better, I doubt for long though haha

Click image for larger version

Name:	ForumRunner_20120802_190439.jpg
Views:	157
Size:	62.3 KB
ID:	110265
__________________
The hardest thing about this hobby, is having a budget..
Everyone has questions
00youknowit00 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2012, 09:58 PM   #80
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
00youknowit00's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Montgomery, Texas
Posts: 1,562
So i'm still battling it.. Its slowed down but definitely still here. Have a tds meter now and the water tests from 0-3ppm, which shouldn't cause this big of a problem.

I thought about it could be my bulbs, they're fishneedit bulbs, but they're not even 5 months old yet.. Could they be it?
__________________

__________________
The hardest thing about this hobby, is having a budget..
Everyone has questions
00youknowit00 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
cyano, starting

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:36 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.