Starving fish??

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Cantareadio

Aquarium Advice Activist
Hey act like I never feed them! How do I know if I'm giving them the right amount?

I feed mine every other day. And before you ask me why I think that, its 13 yrs experience.

LOL. I used to feed every other day. Now I feed every day. Either one will work. Every other day is alot better for water but every day is more natural for fish like tangs (if you dont have alot of algae) because they graze all the time.

Mine act hungry all the time and no matter how much or how often I feed them, they gobble it up like they've never eaten a day in their life!
I feed them twice a day everyday and somehow my water quality is perfect....I'm a newbie so I have no idea how that's happening.

Mine act hungry all the time and no matter how much or how often I feed them, they gobble it up like they've never eaten a day in their life!
I feed them twice a day everyday and somehow my water quality is perfect....I'm a newbie so I have no idea how that's happening.
Healthy fish eat....
If you put food in a healthy fish will eat ...
For the record i feed 3x daily,,sometimes 4..

I say it's better to over feed the under feed.

You can change water, you can't bring back a fish that starved to death.

That said, Over feeding a tank with out a good skimmer (Like an SWC), and/or that is not established is a great way to watch a tank crash, but a well established tank with a good skimmer, live rock, live sand, etc. I think is ok to over feed a little. Of course I don't mean to take 5 cubes of shrimp and dump it in the tank all at once. I usually put in a baby food jar 2 cubes of mysis, a pinch of flake and a cube of squid. Then I pour a small amount into the tank, let the fish feed, about 10-20 minutes later I put in a little more, etc unitll it's gone.

-TheChad