Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 01-20-2015, 01:31 PM   #11
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
tomtom14's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 357
Ok but how is one fish creating so much nutrients that all that cyano is being given off. Enough to cover a whole 500litre tank?


Sent from my iPhone using Aquarium Advice
__________________

__________________
tomtom14 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2015, 01:32 PM   #12
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
tomtom14's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 357
I'm rinsing frozen in tank water in separate bowl then using tweezers to take out 1,2 or 3 brine shrimp or Mysis once a day.


Sent from my iPhone using Aquarium Advice
__________________

__________________
tomtom14 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2015, 01:39 PM   #13
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
BigRedsReefs10's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 4,675
Honestly to help much more we need more info, are you using ro/di water, maintenance routine, filtration and flow?

Also, probably a dumb question but, your not dumping the water you use to rinse the food back in the tank are you?


Sent from my iPhone using Aquarium Advice
__________________
BigRedsReefs10 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2015, 01:49 PM   #14
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
tomtom14's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 357
All RO water all filtration was included on the first message. So I don't have to wright it all down again😆 The flow is high. No dead spots I tested with a bit of plastic. The exact flow is 10,000 litre per hour way more than my tank needs. And no I'm not adding that water back into the tank😂


Sent from my iPhone using Aquarium Advice
__________________
tomtom14 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2015, 01:56 PM   #15
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
BigRedsReefs10's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 4,675
Ro or ro/di? And what's your maintenance routine?


Sent from my iPhone using Aquarium Advice
__________________
BigRedsReefs10 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2015, 02:15 PM   #16
Giant Clam Addict
Community Admin
 
Sniperhank's Avatar



POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Summerville, Pennsylvania
Posts: 18,552
Quote:
Originally Posted by tomtom14 View Post
Hi everyone. I still have a diatom problem. It just will not die down!

Any idears? I thought it might be that my lights are extremely overpowered? But I'll tell you some background info so you can try and piece together why the problem is still going on.

It's a 630litre system. It has correct params.
0 ammonia
0 nitrite
0nitrate
0 phosphate
420 calcium
1250 magnesium
10 alkalinity
0.24 salinity

I have all dried rock except 5kg of live rock. And live deep sand bed. I have a filter sock, filter wool, 800litre v2 skimmer. The only thing I don't have is carbon but will be getting some soon. Also got a deep sand bed refugium with Cato morpha. In the tank I have a chromis and Duncan coral with clean up crew. I am not over feeding I am literally putting one mouthful of food either brine shrimp, pellet, Mysis in a day. So I personally have no idear why I have so much diatom?

Please help still have a moorish idol waiting for me in the shop. It's so painful going in there and seeing him but knowing my tank isn't ready yet😭 Any comments appreciated.


Sent from my iPhone using Aquarium Advice
When doing your water changes, make sure you are cleaning your filter sock and filter floss. If not maintained properly, they can become 'nitrate sinks' of built up decaying matter.
And daily feeding is simply too much. Just like was already said, I also only feed my reef tank every 3 days.
Even with such methods, my ro/di isn't currently usable and I have been stuck using distilled water instead. Due to this water source, I am bringing in nitrates with my top offs and water changes. This is providing me algae growth and a small patch of cyanobacteria in a low flow area.
So, like stated, you have to reduce the amount of nutrients going in and increase the amount being exported...you already have a skimmer running which is one way of assisting. Increased water changes will also export these nutrients as well.
There are two articles linked in my signature that discuss battling algae issues. This is the same as battling cyano. I would suggest reading them to further assist you with your issue.
Sniperhank is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2015, 03:23 PM   #17
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
mrvincent's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Quebec, Canada
Posts: 2,246
On the glass this seems like brown diatoms... On the sandbed, this look like cyanos... Siphon the sandbed first.... Then increase the flow ?

Also you say 0 NO3 and 0 PO4... What test kit are you using ?

Use RODI water for new saltwater mix, also for topoffs.

What brand of salt are you using ?
__________________
mrvincent is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2015, 03:51 PM   #18
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
tomtom14's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 357
All RODI water. I do 10 percent water change every 2 weeks and replace sponges and filter sock And know matter how many times I clean sand bed and glass it just grows back. Kit is one from the shop I'm in there very week so might as well get water tested as well.


Sent from my iPhone using Aquarium Advice
__________________
tomtom14 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2015, 03:52 PM   #19
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
tomtom14's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 357
Sorry but don't know what salt it is.



Sent from my iPhone using Aquarium Advice
__________________
tomtom14 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2015, 03:57 PM   #20
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
mrvincent's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Quebec, Canada
Posts: 2,246
Do you know what kind of test kit they're using ? For sure if they test with crap like API, you'll always get 0NO3 and 0PO4 for reef aquariums...
__________________

__________________
mrvincent is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
diatom, diatoms

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
I still have diatoms. They don't go away. AaronW Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 11 07-12-2013 04:44 PM
is it still diatoms? pcdebb Saltwater Fish Only & FOWLR 11 08-22-2012 05:15 PM
I've got diatoms (brown algae) in a peculiar place! 7Enigma Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks 1 03-07-2006 01:34 PM
I think I've got diatoms... aquazen Saltwater Reef Aquaria 7 02-02-2006 01:16 AM
AHH!!! I've got diatoms like WOAH! Devilishturtles Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 5 08-14-2004 08:37 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:09 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.