Stocking List

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Nolan99

Aquarium Advice Regular
I am new to the saltwater hobby and have just gotten the Red Sea Max 130 (34 gallon) aquarium. I am planning on having a reef aquarium. I have been suggested to stock 1 inch of fish per every 2 gallons. I also have talked to someone who says that the less bioload that the fish creates, essentially the more of that fish you could add per inch for that fish. He also said that the less food you have to feed those particular fish the more fish you can keep. He showed me a tank at their store which they just have a protein skimmer running on it and they have a six-line wrasse, green mandarin, and a coral beauty in it. He says they don't feed this tank, and the fish all looked healthy. Therefore I have come up with this stock list which is moderately higher than the inch per 2 gallons would recommend and I would like help on any edits on compatibility or size you would suggest. Here it is:
-2 Ocellaris Tank Bred Clownfish
-1 Flame Angelfish (I have heard that they can cause damage to corals but I am willing to take the risk)
-1 Tailspot Blenny
-2 Banggaii Cardinalfish
-1 Green Mandarin (I would wait till have a high population of copepods)
-1 Six Line Wrasse
-1 Yellow Watchman Goby
Any comments would be appreciated! Thanks!!

While I've never had a Mandarin, I have read many posts on this forum that would suggest a 34 gallon tank couldn't produce enough pods to sustain one and you'd need to supplement, which is costly. Also, the Six Line Wrasse would get them faster than the Mandarin could. Also, that is a pretty big stock list on a 34 gallon tank. My 90 gallon reef only has 6 fish in it and my 180 gallon reef has 9 fish. Hope this helps.

Sent from my iPad using Aquarium Advice

-2 Ocellaris Tank Bred Clownfish +