Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 05-28-2004, 02:39 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Salttanker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Prosper, TX.
Posts: 1,297
Stray Voltage: Fact, or Myth? You Decide

I ran across this article to try and understand what all the talk was about regarding stray voltage, and how it leads to problems with tanks. Remember - I didn't write this article, but merely wanted to share it with everyone to see if it holds water. Thanks for listening.



Mike



http://article.dphnet.com/cat-02/strayvoltages.shtml
__________________

__________________
Salttanker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2004, 03:16 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Texas
Posts: 348
Send a message via MSN to Nitrate
I have first hand experience with two Pacific Blue tangs, one with severe HLLE and the other with a relatively minor case that only got better after a grounding probe was installed. These fish were in separate tanks at separate locations. No other environmental changes were made, no dietary changes were made.

There was nothing scientific about it and I cant write a thesis on it, but I what I know in these two situations is that no probe = HLLE, probe = no HLLE.

I have about 20 years background in electronics so I know what the article is saying, but my thought is the electricity that is the cause of the HLLE, not the current. I’m not a biologist, but I’m pretty sure fish use electricity in ways that mammals don’t.

JMO
__________________

__________________
Nitrate is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2004, 03:21 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Salttanker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Prosper, TX.
Posts: 1,297
I guess installing a grounding probe doesn't hurt one way or another anyway. Is that something relatively easy to do? The reason I have been researching this article is because my Yellow Tang looks to have HLLE. After a few water changes, and enriching foods with Selcon and Garlic, it does look better, but maybe this is a temporary fix? Thanks for your feedback.

Mike
__________________
Salttanker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2004, 03:31 PM   #4
AA Team Emeritus
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Virginia
Posts: 2,256
Send a message via ICQ to fishfreek Send a message via AIM to fishfreek Send a message via MSN to fishfreek Send a message via Yahoo to fishfreek
Yes a grounding probe is just about the most simple install you could have.

All the grounding probe is, is a non coroding metal rod. Alot of them are titanimum. This is attached to a wire above the waters surface. The wire then runs down to your grounded outlet. The comercial probes will have a plug like an electrical plug but the to prongs will be plastic and the grounding wire will be connected to the third grounding prong. Some will have a little eyelet you screw on your faceplate that connects to the outlet in the wall and that also forms a ground.

Increasing the nutrional value of the fish's diet can also help slow, reverse the HLLE.
__________________
Remember dont tap the glass, your fish will think you're an idiot -Anonymous mother

Check out our articles area. 30+ Aquatic articles for your enjoyment
Are you in or around the Shenandoah Valley area? If so click here to join our regional forum.
fishfreek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2004, 03:34 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Salttanker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Prosper, TX.
Posts: 1,297
Very nice. I am not too keen on electrical stuff, but where do I get one, and how much is it? It's called a grounding probe, correct? Thanks for the great info Nitrate..

Mike
__________________
Salttanker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2004, 03:48 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 5,832
Send a message via Yahoo to quarryshark
Quote:
Originally Posted by fishfreek
Yes a grounding probe is just about the most simple install you could have.

All the grounding probe is, is a non coroding metal rod. Alot of them are titanimum. This is attached to a wire above the waters surface. The wire then runs down to your grounded outlet. The comercial probes will have a plug like an electrical plug but the to prongs will be plastic and the grounding wire will be connected to the third grounding prong. Some will have a little eyelet you screw on your faceplate that connects to the outlet in the wall and that also forms a ground.

Increasing the nutrional value of the fish's diet can also help slow, reverse the HLLE.
Stupid question. Does the probe need to reach the sand at the bottom of the tank?
__________________
quarryshark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2004, 04:11 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Cleveland, Oh. USA
Posts: 2,158
Send a message via AIM to ReefRaff Send a message via MSN to ReefRaff Send a message via Yahoo to ReefRaff
Quote:
Stupid question. Does the probe need to reach the sand at the bottom of the tank?
nope. just in the water.

I bought this probe and i like it.

http://www.thatpetplace.com/Products.../Itemdy00.aspx
ReefRaff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2004, 04:19 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 5,832
Send a message via Yahoo to quarryshark
[quote="ReefRaff"]
Quote:

nope. just in the water.

I bought this probe and i like it.

http://www.thatpetplace.com/Products.../Itemdy00.aspx
Cool thanks!! I'm ordering it now. This has been something that has been on my mind for a while. I just always forget when I go to the LFS.
__________________
quarryshark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2004, 04:30 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Central Pennsylvania
Posts: 261
I'm working on getting a 50g FOWLR started. It's going into my home office where I also have my Ham Radio station (W3UTD). I hope my transmitting at 100 to 200 watts isn't going to freak out the fish. I don't think I have stray RF in the room, but who knows? :|
__________________
55g Reef
(3) Maxi-Jet 1200's, Wavemaker Pro
AquaC Remora Skimmer
100lbs Live Rock
20g Refugium
(1) Scarlet Cleaner Shrimp
(1) Peppermint Shrimp
(2) False Percs
(1) Orchid Dottyback
(1) Lawnmower Blenny
(1) Flame Angel
(1) Spotted Mandarin
(1) Red Brittle Star
(1) Banded Serpent Star

"But then again, fish do tend to eat one another. I often wonder ... if fish get awfully tired of seafood? What are your thoughts Hobson?"
gear-head is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2004, 06:17 PM   #10
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Texas
Posts: 348
Send a message via MSN to Nitrate
Turn the lights off in the room and sit a small fluorencent bulb next to the transmitter. If the bulb glows in the dark then you have stray RF. Or you can probably pick up a cheap field strength meter at radio shack.
__________________

__________________
Nitrate is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Stray current found in return pump (About 1V AC) Scoot Saltwater Reef Aquaria 13 10-15-2006 05:04 PM
Water Voltage richiestang_78 Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 4 05-12-2006 06:02 PM
Voltage Fireworks Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 3 04-30-2005 09:40 PM
How to test for stray voltage? luntiz Saltwater Reef Aquaria 20 07-20-2004 01:22 PM
Stray Voltage Bang Guy Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 2 09-17-2002 11:09 AM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:46 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.