Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 09-24-2012, 11:40 PM   #21
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Convict2161's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Planet Earth
Posts: 14,818
Quote:
Originally Posted by nikki_kaiser

What are normal levels for a saltwater tank?
Hi Nikki!

My guess would be 0. You wouldn't want any stray voltage in your tank. I don't know the threshold corals or fish can take.

Sorry I don't have a better answer, I'd assume its like us though. The less the better. Nobody wants to get shocked.
__________________

__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]

"When creating an aqua scape, strive for the beauty of imperfection, as its art and there is no wrong or right, it's left open for interpretation" James Findley
Convict2161 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2012, 11:41 PM   #22
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
scottayy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Indiana
Posts: 2,499
I did unplug one at a time and reported the results (page 1 :P). I don't know what normal voltage levels are. It will go from your sump back up to your main tank because saltwater is naturally conductive.

I get the same reading in my sump as in my DT.
__________________

scottayy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2012, 12:33 AM   #23
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
scottayy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Indiana
Posts: 2,499
I would find it hard to believe that any tank is at 0.
scottayy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2012, 02:03 AM   #24
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
scottayy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Indiana
Posts: 2,499
Alright so here's my rundown only plugging in 1 thing at a time.

Everything off - 1.63 (how?)
Power strip 1 plugged in - 1.80
Power strip 1 and two plugged in - 1.96
Return pump 3.74
cooling fan 2.55
50 watt heater 6.45
skimmer pump 6.95
koralia 240 - 4.62
koralia 750 1 - 3.45
koralia 750 2 - 4.32
reactor pump - 4.83
100 watt heater - 9.62 (yipes!)
moonlights 1.41
fuge light 1.51
lights plugged in, off - 1.23
lights plugged in, blues on - 2.23
lights plugged in, whites on - 2.07
lights plugged in, whites & blues on - 3.10
Everything on 25.30

With my 100 watt heater unplugged the sump drops from like 25 to 6.. but the DT goes from about 30 to 20.

Obviously I improved it a little bit, but what can I do in general to get this down? I can't replace everything.

Just looking for some general help in the right direction.
scottayy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2012, 08:01 AM   #25
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Convict2161's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Planet Earth
Posts: 14,818
Quote:
Originally Posted by scottayy
I would find it hard to believe that any tank is at 0.
Ideally yes you would want 0 just like yourself would want 0. Does it happen? I'm not sure. I don't feel anything when tinkering with my bio cube. At work I don't feel anything. Am I getting hit my stray current? Maybe, it may be too small to notice.

But yes you would want zero current in the tank.

I'll check my tank tonight with my meter and see what I get, you have peaked my interest.

I'll be back lol.
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]

"When creating an aqua scape, strive for the beauty of imperfection, as its art and there is no wrong or right, it's left open for interpretation" James Findley
Convict2161 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2012, 08:22 AM   #26
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
manbeast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: pennsylvania
Posts: 916
you may want to look outside the tank, could be the electrical outlet being used is not well grounded, my house was originally built in 1860, and supposedly updated before we purchased it, but when doing some work I found that the brand new wiring that was attached to the outlet only went two feet into the wall where it was spliced to the old ungrounded, tar covered wires used in the 30's or 40's so maybe start at the breaker box and work your way to the tank checking all the connections along the way
__________________
manbeast is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2012, 08:22 AM   #27
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Hocky puck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 293
Honestly I don't think it's possible to get 0 Scotty did you pull the power heads etc out of the tank? Because most things plugged in but turned off still retain voltage. If you hold one end of probes in each hand you should still get a voltage. There isn't much in the natural would that doesn't carry a current. Atleast I believe if memory serves
__________________
Hocky puck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2012, 10:28 AM   #28
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Convict2161's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Planet Earth
Posts: 14,818
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hocky puck
Honestly I don't think it's possible to get 0 Scotty did you pull the power heads etc out of the tank? Because most things plugged in but turned off still retain voltage. If you hold one end of probes in each hand you should still get a voltage. There isn't much in the natural would that doesn't carry a current. Atleast I believe if memory serves
Actually your correct. There is current no matter what, holding one end of the meter and sticking in the tank your gonna get a reading. And like you said holding both ends your gonna get a reading. Current is everywhere.

Look at pools for example, they need to be "bonded" so the current is equal, if not then current will be different in different areas of the pool. You can't bond a fish tank and with saltwater being a conductor, I'd look at the outlet like the other poster suggested. Maybe the plug isn't grounded correctly?

All equipment will conduct some form of electrons and submersing them into the water will only add to it.

Your body is a conductor also.
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]

"When creating an aqua scape, strive for the beauty of imperfection, as its art and there is no wrong or right, it's left open for interpretation" James Findley
Convict2161 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2012, 01:09 PM   #29
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
nikki_kaiser's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Texas
Posts: 874
Quote:
Originally Posted by scottayy
I did unplug one at a time and reported the results (page 1 :P). I don't know what normal voltage levels are. It will go from your sump back up to your main tank because saltwater is naturally conductive.

I get the same reading in my sump as in my DT.
I saw that after and I'm sorry about that! Was on my cell. . So I was reading last night and apparently there is some debate as to what higher levels of voltage can do to corals. Common sense would tell me that if it can cause your fish to act strange or kill them then it would most definitely affect your corals at higher levels. Here is what one guy said are some symptoms of voltage being to high. Take into account that all other things were within good parameters for his tank and he had no issues except the high voltage.

Extensive loss of zooxanthellae in SPS and LPS coral
Tissue recession and polyp bail-out in SPS coral
Shriveled up and discolored soft coral
Complete "melt down" of soft coral
Leather coral shed excessively and will not extend their polyps

Since I don't have corals yet I can't really say if its BS or not. Just thought I would post it!
__________________
nikki_kaiser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2012, 05:35 PM   #30
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
scottayy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Indiana
Posts: 2,499
I think I'll try replacing the power strips and cleaning up my wiring. How do I check an outlet is well grounded (besides tracing it from the breaker box)?

And yeah the reason I checked is because lately my anthelias is melting and my duncans haven't opened in forever.
__________________

scottayy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
aquarium, level, salt, saltwater, saltwater aquarium

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:26 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.