Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 09-27-2012, 03:01 PM   #61
AA Team Emeritus
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 6,070
At 100mV you wouldn't feel the shock so that's why I was hinting at making sure the heater was actually on. I'll keep checking back to see any updates.
__________________

__________________
meegosh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2012, 05:35 PM   #62
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
scottayy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Indiana
Posts: 2,499
What's the best way to test? I get the highest results just putting the black probe on my finger. I get lower results if I put it in the ground plug of an outlet, and even lower if I touch it to a screw or something.
__________________

scottayy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2012, 07:44 PM   #63
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Gregcoyote's Avatar



Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Columbia, Missouri
Posts: 8,325
Your black wire should go to a good ground. That will show the voltage potential. IMO, if you can feel ANY tingling in the water, it is too much no matter what the meter reads.
__________________
Gregcoyote is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2012, 09:58 PM   #64
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
scottayy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Indiana
Posts: 2,499
Yeah, I agree.

Well I just tested again. Didn't feel any tingling in the sump this time. I'm going to plug in the heater that I unplugged and see if i feel the tingling again.

So, how do I interpret these results?

meter set on 600 - reads 004
meter set on 200 - reads 5.8
meter set on 20 - reads 6.47
meter set on 2 - reads "1."
meter set on 200m - reads "1 ."

What is my voltage?
scottayy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2012, 11:13 PM   #65
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
scottayy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Indiana
Posts: 2,499
Alright I hooked the meter up to an outlet because I knew that should be around 120. My meter reads like 120.1 or somewhere around there. So I guess the number it gives me is volts. And if it's too high it reads "1".

That would mean that earlier today my tank had 104mV and when I read it most recently it had 6.47v.

What is the deal?
scottayy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2012, 12:09 AM   #66
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Gregcoyote's Avatar



Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Columbia, Missouri
Posts: 8,325
I tend to work in bare feet in my fish room which has a concrete floor and a little saltwater on it anytime I am working. I don't ever want to feel any electrical discharge even with wet feet.

I use a chiller and don't use a heater unless it gets real cold, then it is a inline heater. I don't trust heaters. I also have everything running thru GFI breakers.

A good experiment is unplugging everything for a few minutes and take a reading from there. No matter what scale you are on, it is zero potential as there is no power connected to the entire system. Then see how much it climbs as you plug each device back in.
__________________
Gregcoyote is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2012, 12:40 AM   #67
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
scottayy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Indiana
Posts: 2,499
Yeah I did that on page two, greg Each device climbs a few volts.

I found *a* problem. Though it's not the problem (at least I don't think - does saltwater "hold" stray voltage for a period of time?). This outlet on my timer power strip didn't light up the LED's on the light tester. And it tests low on the digital multimeter though all of my other outlets test around 122 volts.

This is bad news, right?



Outlet Tester plugged in


No lights. The back indicates this would mean open hot.. however I just don't think it's getting enough power.


Sticking each probe directly into the outlet it reads .357 volts


I have it unplugged for now and will check later.
scottayy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2012, 01:45 AM   #68
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Gregcoyote's Avatar



Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Columbia, Missouri
Posts: 8,325
I might try another power strip and be sure it hasn't gotten wet.
__________________
Gregcoyote is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2012, 04:31 AM   #69
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
scottayy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Indiana
Posts: 2,499
I get a new power strip. Used my outlet tester to make sure it was good and then used the voltage meter to check each outlet on it.

Everything was fine.

I then unhooked everything from all power strips. Took all equipment out of the tank, wiped down the wires, and redid my electrical wiring to make it tidier.

I found a koralia 750 wire going inbetween the tank and stand. No way I was getting that out of there so I cut the cord and used vice grips to pull the remaining wire out of there. Don't know how that happens but even if that wasn't the source of my problem it's still definitely not a good thing.

Unplugged the main cord to the outlet.

Everything is off. Nothing even going to the outlet! Still read .5 volts in the water??

Tested each equipment one by one. Everything gives off a volt or two. Things giving off more than 4 volts were my reactor pump, and two heaters.

Right now the only thing I have hooked up is my return pump and one koralia 750 and I'm still reading about 7 volts. Everything else is unplugged again and out of the tank for the time being.

This is frustrating the heck out of me!!!!! I just spent about 5 hours on it and came away with less knowledge than when I started.
scottayy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2012, 05:13 AM   #70
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
scottayy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Indiana
Posts: 2,499
From extensive googling it appears that not much is known about this subject.

Some even say that 20, 40, or 60 combined stray voltage is good.

Could you guys test your tank with a digital multimeter with everything running and tell me what you get?
__________________

scottayy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
aquarium, level, salt, saltwater, saltwater aquarium

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:14 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.