Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 04-18-2005, 01:07 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Nebraska, USA
Posts: 6,703
Strontum and Iodine question

While at the LFS yesterday, I made mention that I'm still having problems getting calcium up to 400ppm (seems i'm stuck at 350) and alkalinity up to 3meq/l (stuck at 2.5). My pH is usually 8.1, and my Mg levels have stayed at 1200-1250mg/l.

I only have mushrooms, yellow colony polyps and just added some button polyps this weekend. Lots of coraline though.

Anyhow, the guy at the LFS mentioned supplementing with strontium...that maybe my coraline is using more calcium than it should because my strontium levels are low. I don't have a strontium test kit, but I'm wondering what you all think?

He also mentioned iodine to brighten up the corals. That's definitely something I won't dose without testing
__________________

__________________
Former advisor and planted tank geek...life's moved on though.
malkore is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2005, 07:33 PM   #2
steve-s
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Re: Strontum and Iodine question

Quote:
Originally Posted by malkore
Anyhow, the guy at the LFS mentioned supplementing with strontium...that maybe my coraline is using more calcium than it should because my strontium levels are low. I don't have a strontium test kit, but I'm wondering what you all think?
Debatable on both issues but if doing water changes every so often, Sr will be replenished to a great degree. You might find this an interesting read...

http://www.advancedaquarist.com/issues/nov2003/chem.htm

Cheers
Steve
__________________
  Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2005, 11:35 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Nebraska, USA
Posts: 6,703
Well amazingly, my Alk is finally up to speed, though I only waited 9 hours to test after dosing some Alk buffer. But it was 3.5meq/l and 11dKh by my two test kits.

Calcium was 325ppm, however I didn't dose that earlier, so I dosed this evening. I'm hoping I don't have to dose every single day, but I'd rather do that than have bouncing levels.
Oh and pH was 8.2, and all my corals were wide open, including the new button polyps I got saturday.
__________________
Former advisor and planted tank geek...life's moved on though.
malkore is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2005, 09:53 PM   #4
steve-s
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally Posted by malkore
Calcium was 325ppm, however I didn't dose that earlier, so I dosed this evening. I'm hoping I don't have to dose every single day, but I'd rather do that than have bouncing levels.
If you do small daily additions, you'll have less issues than larger less frequent additions. Your Ca is quite low to the point where gastropods and crustaceans will start having problems if left too long.

Not sure on your tank size or products but this calculator should help...
http://home.comcast.net/~jdieck1/chem_calc3.html

Cheers
Steve
__________________
  Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2005, 12:53 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Nebraska, USA
Posts: 6,703
Steve,

that page is great. I use Kent's dry Turbo Calcium. Its funny, because the label says 1/4tsp per 50gallons (or something like that, I"m not at home to check). I've been tryin 1/2tsp to bring it up...according to that site, to get up to 425ppm I need almost 8 teaspoons!
Of course I can't add that all at once, but no wonder I've not been able to catch up to normal levels...I was being too conservative.

Many thanks...this puts me on a slightly more vigorous dosing routine since I have a better inkling of how much turbo cal will affect my tank.
__________________
Former advisor and planted tank geek...life's moved on though.
malkore is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2005, 12:18 AM   #6
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
MarineFlake's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Memphis, Tn
Posts: 816
think Kalk... ; )
__________________
To fail to plan is to plan to fail.
MarineFlake is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2005, 11:19 AM   #7
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Nebraska, USA
Posts: 6,703
Yeah, I tried Kalk when I setup at the beginning. It obviously didn't help, because I had too low of a level to start with. Once I can get my levels up to par, I indeed plan to try a kalk drip again.
__________________

__________________
Former advisor and planted tank geek...life's moved on though.
malkore is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
iodine divedeep1689 Saltwater Reef Aquaria 10 10-14-2009 12:58 PM
Iodine - What's up with that? SpeckledGrouper Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 8 08-18-2004 11:17 AM
Iodine. mansiz Saltwater Reef Aquaria 5 03-20-2004 07:07 PM
Iodine Question Gauge Saltwater Reef Aquaria 5 01-20-2004 01:26 PM
Iodine ? easyian Saltwater Reef Aquaria 7 11-12-2003 09:00 AM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:33 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.