Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 09-05-2011, 12:15 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
User's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: NJ
Posts: 639
Stupid Question

Are RO filters for sw mainly?

Or can they be used effectively for freshwater?

Thanks! I think saltwater people will know this answer quite easily whereas I do not.
__________________

__________________
User is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2011, 12:17 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
ilostnemo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Under ziggys bed..
Posts: 1,365
yea you can use ro water on a fw tank. i do on all of mine. you just will need to add back some trace minerals
__________________

__________________
two 10g nanoreef, 44g corner fw, 700g pond
ilostnemo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2011, 12:19 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
User's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: NJ
Posts: 639
Quote:
Originally Posted by ilostnemo View Post
yea you can use ro water on a fw tank. i do on all of mine. you just will need to add back some trace minerals
So its worth it?
__________________
User is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2011, 12:22 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
ilostnemo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Under ziggys bed..
Posts: 1,365
i think it is. it does cost though so lol
__________________
two 10g nanoreef, 44g corner fw, 700g pond
ilostnemo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2011, 12:31 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
User's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: NJ
Posts: 639
Quote:
Originally Posted by ilostnemo View Post
i think it is. it does cost though so lol
Especially if I want a sw tank down the road? (hopefully not too long a road)

I think I want one under $200
__________________
User is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2011, 12:33 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
ilostnemo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Under ziggys bed..
Posts: 1,365
even more so yeah, id deff get one if i had the money, and well id see if you can find results for the solids still after the ro unit. some units dont even remove half
__________________
two 10g nanoreef, 44g corner fw, 700g pond
ilostnemo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2011, 12:35 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
User's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: NJ
Posts: 639
ok so the more they remove the better? I need to do more research...
__________________
User is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2011, 12:38 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
ilostnemo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Under ziggys bed..
Posts: 1,365
yes. you want the water you use to have zero ppt and zero disolved solids.
__________________
two 10g nanoreef, 44g corner fw, 700g pond
ilostnemo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2011, 02:12 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Pschmitt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Granada Hills, Ca
Posts: 250
I use RODI water with my 40 gal fresh. I just use 1/2 tsp of Kent RO Right in a 5 gallon batch

Used to have some stringy brown algae and within 4 PWC's saw a world of difference. Like you, I thought about it and said, what the ****. I already own this unit might as well use it for both tanks.
__________________
Pschmitt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2011, 03:00 PM   #10
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
User's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: NJ
Posts: 639
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pschmitt View Post
I use RODI water with my 40 gal fresh. I just use 1/2 tsp of Kent RO Right in a 5 gallon batch

Used to have some stringy brown algae and within 4 PWC's saw a world of difference. Like you, I thought about it and said, what the ****. I already own this unit might as well use it for both tanks.
Lol dont own it yet but I plan on buying one. It triggers the spawning for some species as well
__________________

__________________
User is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Might be a stupid question. Are dwarf chichilids and rams the same fish? brittanykluss Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 1 09-02-2011 05:32 PM
Maybe a stupid question Boomer2244 Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 3 07-10-2011 03:19 PM
Stupid question Flossie Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 31 07-09-2011 10:16 PM
this maybe a stupid question Boomer2244 Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 4 07-08-2011 01:38 AM
Stupid Betta Question Love_MyFish Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 4 07-04-2011 02:58 AM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:14 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.