Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 08-25-2010, 04:26 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Round Rock, Texas
Posts: 74
Question Substate change opinions

Hi all. My husband and I are about to change the substrate in our 29 gallon biocube. When we first set it up about 16 months ago, we thought we were being smart by using crushed coral and white sand. It seems like the newbies start out the same based on searches and then inevitably end up changing to sand only. We would like to change to black sand (we made sure to get the non-magnet kind based on the magfloat issues). We would like opinions on the best way to change it out. We were thinking in sections and then we thought all at once by putting our 2 clownfish, 1 yellow watchman goby and several crabs into a temporary home. Here's our main concern: what about all the living things in the current substate? We have pods and some worms and I'm sure some starfish, etc. that we don't want to throw out. Is there a way to transfer them or is losing them the price of changing out the substrate? For the beneficial bacteria transfer, I read in several places to put the old stuff in a nylon hose and put it back in the tank when the change has been made but I'm sure this won't work for the living creatures. FYI: We also have several LPS's and about 30 pounds of live rock (we are adding some more rock during the transfer). Thanks for your time and advice/suggestions!
Happy Tanking!
__________________

__________________
newfishhobbyist is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2010, 04:36 PM   #2
AA Team Emeritus
 
Jimbo7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 1,996
If you are able to move the fish and everything out temporarily, just do it all at once. Put the LR in a bucket or tubs, and the fish in QT, take it all out, clean it out, LR back in, then new sand.

You can run the sand through a sieve of sorts to try and catch some of the critters, but in they end it probably won't be worth it. Your new sand will become live with new stuff soon enough.
__________________

__________________
Links to old builds:
12DX LED Build
Frag Tank (Fixed Link)
Dorm Pico Tank
Jimbo7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2010, 05:36 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
milhous3er's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Columbus, Ohio
Posts: 248
also don't freak when you get those diatoms back. mine came when i switched from CC to aragonite, and didn't do it in sections. that was 3 weeks ago, and now i'm diatom free !!
__________________
40g Breeder Reef tank
250w MH/Lumenmax Elite/Reef lux 20k/Galaxy
GS Maroon Clown & Antennata Lionfish
milhous3er is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2010, 09:44 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Round Rock, Texas
Posts: 74
Thank you.
__________________
newfishhobbyist is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2010, 08:24 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Round Rock, Texas
Posts: 74
I have another question for you guys.....
Our tank has bubble algae on the live rock like crazy...
is there a way to 'clean it' before putting it in the 'new' setup?
__________________
newfishhobbyist is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2010, 09:19 PM   #6
SW REEF 18+ YEARS
Community Admin
 
melosu58's Avatar



Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Virginia
Posts: 38,242
Just take it and scrub it good in a bucket of SW.
__________________

__________________

SITE ADMINISTRATOR

You can view many of my fish and corals in my photo albums in my profile.

View my tank


AA Community Rules|AA TOS

Forums 101 - posting, accounts, basics
melosu58 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
change

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Algea line around substate clark4feathers Saltwater Reef Aquaria 13 08-03-2010 03:17 PM
changing substate. please help!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! FiShDuDe9 Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 26 08-19-2009 12:20 AM
Pondering Salt Mix Change - Opinions? amahler Saltwater Reef Aquaria 9 06-03-2005 05:50 PM
Which substate? Rsquared333 Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks 23 10-14-2004 04:58 PM
Changing Substate - Can I mix CC and sand? cybercron Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 10 02-28-2004 07:00 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:37 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.