Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 12-09-2003, 10:54 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: michigan
Posts: 8
substrate

ok heres my setup, 55gal with flourescent lighting dont know wattage, also i have a tidepool 1 10gal sump wet/dry filter with the 3 media filled with a thin corse blue pad, super activaed carbon, then bio-balls( in that order), also i have 3 100w heaters, a red sea airlift 90 protein skimmer, im using a mag drive 500gph pump to pump the sump back into the tank, and i dont have a bulkhead hole drilled i just bought a skimmer for it so i can keep the tank whole in case i sell it later, also i have a lot of airstones so the aeration is good, and i use instant ocean salt i just want to make sure that i have alllll my info out. im not sure about the base i want so heres my question would it be ok for me to use LS about 2in thick mixed with a little maybe 20lb of CC, and about 5 lbs of LR, the reason for so little LR is that i have sooo much other bio- filtration, o i forgot that the tidepool sump has a huge bio-whell built into it, and the bottom drawer has a crap load of bio-balls so i figured that it would be enough bio filtration, and live rock is pretty pricey at my LFS at $6lb and im a little cramped for cash after my filtering system, and im trying to get a large porcupine puffer, maybe 2 because ive heard that sometimes they are compatible, and a big volitian lionfish so please post i need some help here thanks
-matt
__________________

__________________
mattvght100 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2003, 11:15 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Austin Mn
Posts: 482
Send a message via MSN to Dewey
imo i would loose the bio balls they thend to hold nitrates. One of the sponsers of this site is liverocks.com Ask for Zack they have awsome live rock and sand alot cheaper than your lfs. If it was me i would go for a dsb . Go to the artical section there is a good artical there about dsb. Ill let someone else feed you some more info.

Good luck Dewey P.S. anyother questions feel free to ask.
__________________

__________________
Thanks Dewey
Dewey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2003, 11:20 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: michigan
Posts: 8
yea a few more if i put just some dead rock that is very porous, and the dead sand bed or is the DSB mean dry sand bed anywayswill the LR and make the DSB live evantually and the other rock live rock thanks
__________________
mattvght100 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2003, 12:33 AM   #4
Aquarium Advice Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: michigan
Posts: 8
come on guys post please i really need to know soon so i can order what i need
__________________
mattvght100 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2003, 01:20 AM   #5
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Minneapolis
Posts: 276
Send a message via AIM to Smonkey15 Send a message via MSN to Smonkey15
lol, alright i can help you out. dsb means DEEP sand bed, its about 5-7 inches deep of sand in your tank that greatly helps the nitrogen cycles. not necessary, but very helpful. yes, if you put sand and base rock in the tank and add some live rock and a little live sand, then eventually it will all become live as well. make sure the rock is a good base rock though, if it isn't the porous enough then less bacteria will be albe to live on it. i have heard great things about www.hirocks.com so check them out. my girlfriend bought me 60 lbs. of that stuff for christmas, excited to get it. anyways, hope that helps.
steve
__________________
-Steve-

Figuring out how to keep my fish healthy is like the pethagorean theorem; there is no solution.
Smonkey15 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2003, 12:07 AM   #6
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Austin Mn
Posts: 482
Send a message via MSN to Dewey
Try www.liverocks.com ask for Zack hes a great guy, great live rock and live sand.



Goodluck Dewey
__________________
Thanks Dewey
Dewey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2003, 12:20 AM   #7
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Lancaster, PA
Posts: 869
Send a message via ICQ to jackdp
Go with more LR and a sand bed minus the CC. The bio-wheel and bio-balls are great at providing surface area for nitrifying bacteria that break down ammonia and nitrite, but the downside is you may be left with off the charts nitrates. To be rid of nitrates naturally you need denitrifying bacteria that breakdown nitrates into nitrogen gas etc. These bacteria will grow in the pores of the LR and deeper in the LS. All you then need is good flow from some powerheads and the tank will need less maintenance.
__________________
Brad C.
jackdp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2003, 12:30 AM   #8
AA Team Emeritus
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Louisiana
Posts: 7,224
Send a message via Yahoo to Hara
ok, just to be a little different here........

If you are going to just have fish, just fish and not corals, you do not need all the live rock. Your bioball filtration system will be more than adequate. IF you want a reef tank full of corals, ditch the bioballs and add alot of live rock. IF you want that reef, then the liverock and bioballs will sort of work against each other. I have a 100 gallon eel tank *very heavy bioload" and the bioballs are just fine. Answers to your questions are best answered after knowing what you want to do with your tank.
__________________

__________________
Hara is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
substrate

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
What is the best substrate to use? froggy8963 Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 5 06-23-2009 11:19 PM
Substrate want2findnemo Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 3 06-06-2008 07:21 PM
2questions1post, Refugium lighting substrate/Tank Substrate divemasterjim Saltwater Reef Aquaria 4 04-23-2006 07:46 PM
Substrate and substrate cleaning questions Kilgore Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks 6 04-17-2006 05:29 PM
Which substrate? prisoner1572 Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 1 04-05-2004 04:19 AM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:34 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.