Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 01-07-2013, 06:34 PM   #21
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
MikeGio's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 127
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tlro View Post

I've heard it suggested both ways. Personally I took it all out at once. I also took my rock out too but that's because I have coral and nems stuck on mine so you could probably just leave yours in. I mean in theory the creatures are used ti sand and all kinds of stuff in the water column. Be prepared for anything though. I syphoned out most of the water into a big container then put my rock and critters in that with the light. Then scooped out the remaining water and my old substrate into a waste container. I gave the tank a good rinse and wipe down. Then I put in my new stuff. I used caribsea arag alive hawaiian black. It comes wet so I didn't rinse it. Then put in some new water and gave the could a while to settle. I put my equipment in, then corals and rock, then fish/other mobile critters. The only thing that put up a fuss was my frogspawn. After a few hours she was back to normal. So far everything is looking better than ever and the whole process took a couple hours. Just have everything you need ready like salt water and a temporary container for the critters. Have a plan in your head and its smooth sailing. So worth it to get that CC out and get something beautiful and functional.
If I vacuum it out do I just leave the rock, fish, cuc, corals in or am I better off taking them out?, I don't want to stress them out.
__________________

__________________
MikeGio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2013, 06:40 PM   #22
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Tlro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Calgary, Alberta
Posts: 130
I would say to take them out. Safer is always better in my opinion.
__________________

__________________
Tlro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2013, 06:42 PM   #23
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Tlro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Calgary, Alberta
Posts: 130
I'm sure if you left them in they would survive but there is always the chance they won't. Nothing is ever a for sure thing in this hobby unfortunately haha.
__________________
Tlro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2013, 06:48 PM   #24
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
MikeGio's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 127
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tlro View Post
I'm sure if you left them in they would survive but there is always the chance they won't. Nothing is ever a for sure thing in this hobby unfortunately haha.
Isn't that true. I'm mad I even have this coral. So I will put my corals and fish in a bucket with my tanks water and a powerhead. Then vacuum all sand out and rinse new sand in RO water then put in ziplock to submerge and funnel onto bottom. Then fill w/ new water and add live stock.

I'm pretty sure if I leave my peppermint in they will survive they are immortal. I've tried catching them with know luck.
__________________
MikeGio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2013, 06:48 PM   #25
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
mr_X's Avatar


 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Fairless Hills, Pa.
Posts: 17,895
Send a message via MSN to mr_X
You aren't worried about sand in the water column. You are worried about a possible nutrient spike. I would do it over a period of a few water changes, simply because I don't like any sudden changes in parameters in my system, and neither does my livestock.
__________________
thanks,
Doug
mr_X is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2013, 06:53 PM   #26
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
MikeGio's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 127
Quote:
Originally Posted by mr_X View Post
You aren't worried about sand in the water column. You are worried about a possible nutrient spike. I would do it over a period of a few water changes, simply because I don't like any sudden changes in parameters in my system, and neither does my livestock.
Yes that's why I was thinking have the bed then the other half. It's only an inch anyway. I have a mesh bag that I will fill with the cc.
__________________
MikeGio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2013, 07:57 PM   #27
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Tlro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Calgary, Alberta
Posts: 130
Quote:
Originally Posted by mr_X View Post
You aren't worried about sand in the water column. You are worried about a possible nutrient spike. I would do it over a period of a few water changes, simply because I don't like any sudden changes in parameters in my system, and neither does my livestock.
+1 that's why I took everything out before I touched the CC.
__________________

__________________
Tlro is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
change, substrate

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:47 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.