Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 04-06-2012, 10:39 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
crister13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Princeton, NJ
Posts: 3,473
Substrate help please!

Have aragonite but it's the big aragonite. Not the fine stuff. I want a Cortez stingray and was wondering if it would be ok. If not, how can I change the substrate?
__________________

__________________
crister13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2012, 11:30 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
crister13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Princeton, NJ
Posts: 3,473
Anyone know about his?
__________________

__________________
crister13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2012, 11:52 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Patrick93's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 322
I'm not sure but I would think they need the fine sand so they don't damage them selfs I might be wrong also if your gonna change it then good luck cause it's gonna be a big pain in the u know what lol
__________________
Patrick93 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2012, 12:00 AM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Hondatek's Avatar



POTM Champion
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Virginia Beach
Posts: 3,969
No you need to find the sand that says on it safe for rays and sharks. I found mine at petsmart.
__________________
Feed your Filtration
Give it to Porc Chop he'll eat anything!!!!!
"This is my tank and these other fish just live in it"
^ Quoted from Porc Chop^
Hondatek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2012, 09:47 AM   #5
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
crister13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Princeton, NJ
Posts: 3,473
So how divi take it out?
__________________
crister13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2012, 10:10 AM   #6
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Hondatek's Avatar



POTM Champion
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Virginia Beach
Posts: 3,969
That's the hard part. You would have to syphon it all out without releasing anything harmful like gas pockets into the tank . I don't think the risk is worth the reward in this case.
__________________
Feed your Filtration
Give it to Porc Chop he'll eat anything!!!!!
"This is my tank and these other fish just live in it"
^ Quoted from Porc Chop^
Hondatek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2012, 10:18 AM   #7
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Jlsardina's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: SW Florida
Posts: 2,581
Send a message via AIM to Jlsardina
Sting rays need perfect water and ultra fine sand. Any rough edge can scrape them get an infection and die. the only way I see you getting the ray is to maybe break down the tank putting all your water in buckets- remove the current substrate putting rocks back in and then adding fine sand. You will have a little but of a cycle but nothing much. But they key is taking out the water first or the old substrate could release toxins in it.

Go to hone depot and buy some big garbage pails.

Personally I don't think rays are worth it. A happy ray spends all his time hidden in the sand. An unhappy one is trying to escape and splashes water all over the place.
__________________
Jlsardina is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2012, 10:28 AM   #8
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
crister13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Princeton, NJ
Posts: 3,473
Could I mix Put ultra fine sand OVER the sand I have now to creat a layer for it?
__________________
crister13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2012, 10:31 AM   #9
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Jlsardina's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: SW Florida
Posts: 2,581
Send a message via AIM to Jlsardina
Quote:
Originally Posted by crister13
Could I mix Put ultra fine sand OVER the sand I have now to creat a layer for it?
Being ultra fine it may fall thru the other over time and then you have a mixture and the same problem.
__________________
Jlsardina is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2012, 10:31 AM   #10
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Jlsardina's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: SW Florida
Posts: 2,581
Send a message via AIM to Jlsardina
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jlsardina

Being ultra fine it may fall thru the other over time and then you have a mixture and the same problem.
Not only that- rays need a deep sand bed
__________________

__________________
Jlsardina is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
substrate

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HELP!!! New To The Hobby...All was well, now it seems live "survival of the fittest" creshpc Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 10 04-07-2012 02:46 PM
HELP! Power went out! Nu-Nu the eel Saltwater Reef Aquaria 13 04-07-2012 10:19 AM
Fry HELP!!!!! Acei CraigMac Cichlid Discussion 7 04-07-2012 08:55 AM
help! asap .. pimple looking .. goldfish rreekers Freshwater & Brackish - Unhealthy Fish 29 04-07-2012 01:20 AM
Vivarium help Butterflychild Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 0 04-06-2012 08:25 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:19 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.