Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
Old 11-06-2004, 10:50 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Addict
revhtree's Avatar
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Rossville. Ga
Posts: 4,500
Sump Clean and Water Change? (How To)

Ok I have have my first sump set up, and it has been set up for about 3 weeks I guess. It is a 23g clear rubbermaid tub. I have about 20g of water in it.

I am wanting to do a water change, and I am wondering what the best way is. I have a bunch of brown stuff built up in the sump, like dirt, is this normal? I have a siphon hose (not a python) you pump under water and it sucks water. The problem is that the container needs to be lower to start the suction, and that is not possible because the sump is on the floor. I know this is a total newb question.

Remember to Keep Christ First!
revhtree is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2004, 11:32 AM   #2
Aquarium Advice Freak
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Mtns of Denver, CO
Posts: 346
What I do is use a small extra PH with a 1/2" hose attached and then pump the sump water to another container. Make sure the main pumps are off so there is no problems with your sump pump running dry.

It's not a dress, it's a kilt.
pipermurphy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2004, 11:43 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Lompoc, Ca
Posts: 1,313
Send a message via AIM to XXFirefighter Send a message via Yahoo to XXFirefighter
didn't think you were supposed to clean sumps..?
Maybe I'm thinkin a fuge...
XXFirefighter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2004, 12:18 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Freak
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 329
I have that brown stuff too. I never clean my sump, but I do suck some of the sand out if it starts getting sucked into the main tank. For the water changes I just shut off my pump and drain the water from the sump with a maxijet 900. Make sure you mark where the water level was at. (also make sure you have enough room for the back flow of water) Then just fill it back up to that mark. Once your done you can turn you pumps back on.
CBRGuy is offline   Reply With Quote

change, clean, sump, water change

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
adding sump, water change? kukki Saltwater Reef Aquaria 4 05-30-2005 02:38 PM
do u change the water and clean the filter on the same day?? Bubble_Boy Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 4 11-07-2004 09:26 AM
How to change water w/sump FlightRisk Saltwater Reef Aquaria 4 03-27-2004 10:32 PM
How often do you guys change/clean your sump? Biggen Saltwater Reef Aquaria 3 03-24-2004 07:40 AM
Fuge/sump/water change container Stanley DIY Projects 4 07-28-2003 01:17 PM

» Photo Contest Winners

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2012 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:58 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.