Sump - Drilled Tank questions

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

gav360

Aquarium Advice Newbie
I've had a 72 gal salt fishonly for about 2 years and everythigns worked great. Ive had a skimmer, and uv steril but just normal canister filter.

Im going to be moving and upgrading a new 150 gal all glass drilled megalfow tank. Im looking for all info on how to set this up.

Heres what I have planned.
- Tidepool ( looks like i need two of these)?
- quiet one pump powering this
- turboflotor 1000 in sump

My question is, what are my sump alternatives? Are tidepools any good, what are my other options? I really have no experience with drilled tanks and sumps.

Thanks! :D

Im no pro but i would go with a wet/dry filter and whatever brand is really up to you. Since it's pre drilled you wont have to bother with a prefilter/overflow box. Just make sure your wet/dry is capable of handling your 150 gal tank. Right now i have a pro clear aquatics 150 gal wet/dry with built in skimmer on my 75 gal tank but haven't set it up yet so really cant say how it works.

Why do you feel you need two tidepools? Is this based upon their recommended size or flow rate?

For large tanks (above 90 gal) alot of times its better to make you own sump simply because of the volume of water. A 55 gal tank for example with some glass partions silconed into it would make a wonderful sump for a tank that size. In all honesty it would probably be cheaper or equivlent to buying one or even two comercial wet/dry filters.