Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 03-19-2014, 12:41 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Droneshooter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: West Chester
Posts: 86
Send a message via Skype™ to Droneshooter
Sump help

Is it bad to have Cyanobacteria growing in my sump ??
__________________

__________________
Droneshooter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2014, 12:53 AM   #2
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 160
Can't be too good.
__________________

__________________
Swicicki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2014, 01:27 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Moose72's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: OKC, OK
Posts: 57
Only a matter of time before it's visible in the display tank.
__________________
Moose72 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2014, 01:49 AM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Dav3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: California
Posts: 1,233
Better than in the display but it shows that you have a excess nutrient issue you need to resolve before it spreads to your display.
__________________
Dav3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2014, 02:34 AM   #5
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Scotty Fraiser's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 175
I have the same problem. Changed Gfo in reactor tonight. Good luck!
__________________
Scotty Fraiser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2014, 09:07 AM   #6
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Droneshooter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: West Chester
Posts: 86
Send a message via Skype™ to Droneshooter
My tank just finished it's cycle the other day only thing in the tank is a few snails and some pulsating Xenia and copods

46gallon bow with a 20 gallon sump
(Refugium) actually
__________________
Droneshooter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2014, 09:18 AM   #7
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
mr_X's Avatar


 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Fairless Hills, Pa.
Posts: 17,895
Send a message via MSN to mr_X
It's not bad at all. Any algae that grows in the sump is fine. It may never reach the display. If it's not in there yet, it probably just likes the refugium light.
__________________
thanks,
Doug
mr_X is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2014, 09:24 AM   #8
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Droneshooter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: West Chester
Posts: 86
Send a message via Skype™ to Droneshooter
Tank has led sump has just compacts but I let it run 24/7
__________________

__________________
Droneshooter is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
sump

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Help with sump. Sump newbiee CTFlowerhornLover Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 5 09-27-2011 01:29 AM
Whats a sump, A simple sump Mr.Maska Saltwater Reef Aquaria 4 12-19-2004 06:51 PM
To sump or not to sump RocketSeason Saltwater Reef Aquaria 9 05-07-2004 06:12 PM
sump or no sump NJDevilsWinCup Saltwater Reef Aquaria 2 04-17-2004 10:56 AM
29 gal - To sump or not to sump? Salt4Us Saltwater Reef Aquaria 1 01-31-2003 06:07 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:23 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.