Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 09-14-2003, 12:57 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Hartford CT
Posts: 87
Send a message via AIM to tpaparazzo
Sump help please

I am finally filling my jetream aquarium by marineland and I am having a huge problem with the filtration. On the left side is a overflow tube with a control rod..Goes down through a ball valve and the into myh tidepool filter...The Ball Valve is wide open..Now in my sump I am having a hell of a time getting the right level so i can pump water back throw the return tube...If i have the ball valve on the return set max..the pump pumps out all the water in the sump back to the aquarium so quickly that there is no more water for it to pump..So I have to close the ball valve on the return to almost all the way closed..THis is the only way the water will rise that extra inch so that the pump is sumberged and sending water back to the aqurium but now isnt that limiting my gph....How can I fix this so that I can open the ball valve some more...Or is it just me and does it not matter on the return ball valve..

Thanks

Tony
__________________

__________________
tpaparazzo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2003, 01:52 PM   #2
AA Team Emeritus
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Virginia
Posts: 2,256
Send a message via ICQ to fishfreek Send a message via AIM to fishfreek Send a message via MSN to fishfreek Send a message via Yahoo to fishfreek
Is the pump overfilling the main tank? Or are you just having a problem with the sump running dry from the pump? If its the later then just add more water to the sump till you reach an equilibrim point where the water level in the tank is maxed out at the overflow and the pump still has water within the sump.

When you put water in the sump are you using a water level mark? The water level mark (if one exists in your sump) is to mark the operational water level and that means when the pump is running.
__________________

__________________
Remember dont tap the glass, your fish will think you're an idiot -Anonymous mother

Check out our articles area. 30+ Aquatic articles for your enjoyment
Are you in or around the Shenandoah Valley area? If so click here to join our regional forum.
fishfreek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2003, 01:58 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Hartford CT
Posts: 87
Send a message via AIM to tpaparazzo
its running dry from the pump....if i add more water to the sump it justs does the same thing...it runs dry...
__________________
tpaparazzo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2003, 02:16 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Hartford CT
Posts: 87
Send a message via AIM to tpaparazzo
i am going crazy...my ball valve is almost closed so my return tube is probably not funtioning the way it should be..if i add water to the sump it just pumps it in and raises the water level but never raises the sump level...its getting frustrating..
__________________
tpaparazzo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2003, 03:27 PM   #5
AA Team Emeritus
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Virginia
Posts: 2,256
Send a message via ICQ to fishfreek Send a message via AIM to fishfreek Send a message via MSN to fishfreek Send a message via Yahoo to fishfreek
yes it sounds like your overflow is not draining like it should. What kind of pump do you have and whats the head height. How big diamater is your overflow drain line?


Is the overflow drain line stright ot close to stright?
__________________
Remember dont tap the glass, your fish will think you're an idiot -Anonymous mother

Check out our articles area. 30+ Aquatic articles for your enjoyment
Are you in or around the Shenandoah Valley area? If so click here to join our regional forum.
fishfreek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2003, 03:55 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Hartford CT
Posts: 87
Send a message via AIM to tpaparazzo
I have a DIAGRAM here of what it looks like...Exactly..You can see the ball valves and the overflows...It looks like the overflow is working properly but again im new so i have no idea..
__________________
tpaparazzo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2003, 05:15 PM   #7
AA Team Emeritus
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Virginia
Posts: 2,256
Send a message via ICQ to fishfreek Send a message via AIM to fishfreek Send a message via MSN to fishfreek Send a message via Yahoo to fishfreek
Does your plumbing look exactly like that aswell?

You will definaly have better overflow performance if the line is as direct to the drip plate as possible.
__________________
Remember dont tap the glass, your fish will think you're an idiot -Anonymous mother

Check out our articles area. 30+ Aquatic articles for your enjoyment
Are you in or around the Shenandoah Valley area? If so click here to join our regional forum.
fishfreek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2003, 11:14 AM   #8
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Hartford CT
Posts: 87
Send a message via AIM to tpaparazzo
thanks..I tweaked a little bit and seems to be better...I am definitely not wide open on the all valve but not a huge deal..Thanks for your help!
__________________
tpaparazzo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2003, 11:20 AM   #9
AA Team Emeritus
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Virginia
Posts: 2,256
Send a message via ICQ to fishfreek Send a message via AIM to fishfreek Send a message via MSN to fishfreek Send a message via Yahoo to fishfreek
What size pump do you have on the return? It could be you just have a pump larger than your overflow can drain.
__________________
Remember dont tap the glass, your fish will think you're an idiot -Anonymous mother

Check out our articles area. 30+ Aquatic articles for your enjoyment
Are you in or around the Shenandoah Valley area? If so click here to join our regional forum.
fishfreek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2003, 11:41 AM   #10
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Hartford CT
Posts: 87
Send a message via AIM to tpaparazzo
its a magdrive 9.5. I called marinleand and they think that the overflows might have an air pocket or something and that i should check the seal and see if its tight...Ill try it but??
__________________

__________________
tpaparazzo is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
sump

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
lost my tank, but back at it now! sump or no sump lower11 Saltwater Reef Aquaria 9 07-10-2007 03:35 PM
Pro Clear Sump - How to put heater in sump & Questions.. TheChad Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 6 04-14-2006 07:39 PM
adding another sump onto my original sump bingbat General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 0 01-15-2005 01:00 AM
Whats a sump, A simple sump Mr.Maska Saltwater Reef Aquaria 4 12-19-2004 06:51 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:39 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.