Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 02-21-2005, 12:29 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Huntsville AL
Posts: 21
Sump kits

Well after reading many articles and posts on this site I have been convinced to add a sump to the aquarium that I am about to setup. I am not much of a handyman so I think I am going to try to find a sump kit to purchase. I am looking for a sump in which I can add my heaters and a skimmer (not purchased yet) onto. I will also probably add any LR rubble/pebbles that I receive in my order. Also my 125g tank has no predrilled holes at all so I guess I will need an overflow. I am not sure what else is needed.

I found a couple websites that sell these kits, but I am not sure which one is right for me. Can you please take a look at these links (or suggest other links) and provide advice/recommendations please?
http://www.aquadirect.com/store/cust...me.php?cat=301
http://www.aquadirect.com/store/cust...&cat=15&page=1

Thanks,
Aaron
__________________

__________________
patriotman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2005, 12:53 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Northwest Indiana
Posts: 711
It just seems like such a waste to spend that much on what could be done with a scrap 20 gallon aquarium.

On my 125, rather than an overflow I just have a PVC pipe running from the tank to the sump with a couple valves (one to set the right flow rate and one as an on/off switch).

I drilled 2 holes in the PVC tube just below the waterline in case the power runs out and the return pump stops.

I don't understand the physics or the point of an overflow box, so it's not on my tank.
__________________

__________________
We'll be fighting in the streets with our children at our feet, and the morals that they worshipped will be gone.

And the men who spurred us on sit in judgment of all wrong, they decide and the shotgun sings the song.



125 SW
80 lb LR
330w PC
Euphyllia, Alveopora, Pachyclauvularia (Metallic Green and Daisy), Frogspawn, Torch, Gold Nepthea, Kenya Tree, Galaxea, Pulsing Xenia, various leather (umbrella, toadstool, fingers, devil fingers, lettuce)
Maroon Clown/White tip LT anemone, Powder Blue Tang, Female Swallow Angel, SixLine Wrasse, Solar Fairy Wrasse, Firefish, Fathead Anthias, Blue Mandarin, 3 Chromis, 3 Green Gobies
Clown Monarch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2005, 03:22 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Toledo, OH
Posts: 301
Send a message via AIM to Jonathan G.
i just got my wet/dry made by pro clear aquatics and it runs great. they are lifetime warrantied and are built very sturdy. Mine came with everything i needed, including bio media, filter pads, pumps, and overflow/prefilter box, and built in skimmer. only thing is that i got a catalina 2200 as my return pump which i replaced with a quiet one 3000. i ordered a 150 gal wet/dry with everything to run it for 265$ with free shipping. I ordered mine off of globalpets.com on ebay. i dont know if this url will work but you can try it.
http://search.ebay.com/_Fish_W0QQcat...Zglobalpetscom you could just run this on your tank and you should be good to go http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll...358261616&rd=1
__________________
Jonathan G. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2005, 04:57 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
lando's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Savage, MN
Posts: 7,889
I have a Pro Clear 150 and think it works great. I removed the bioballs and replaced them with LR rubble. It has a built in skimmer as well. A nice all-in-one product. My came with an external overflow as well (did not need it becuase I have areef ready tank). The only thing it did not come with was a return pump. You should figure that into the overall price.
__________________
Some people are like slinkies...they serve no real purpose yet can still bring a smile to your face when you push them down the stairs!:p
Have a great day! Brian
lando is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2005, 12:17 AM   #5
AA Team Emeritus
 
cmor1701d's Avatar


 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Belle Mead, NJ
Posts: 7,814
He's looking for a SUMP, not a wet/dry. Two different animals.

Aaron, try looking at :
http://www.lifereef.com/frame.html
OR
http://www.superskimmer.com/sump_tanks.htm
and be sure to read the articles on this forum as well as:
Everything You Always Wanted to Know About Sumps

Clown Monarch, you should take a look at that last one too. It explains the purpose of the overflow and even has animation.

I sold my wet/dry on eBay. Not enough room inside to put the skimmer and everything else. I now have a 30 gal sump.
cmor1701d is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2005, 07:45 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Salem, OR
Posts: 272
Quote:
I sold my wet/dry on eBay. Not enough room inside to put the skimmer and everything else. I now have a 30 gal sump.
This is what I'm hoping to do as well, although I would like to make the sump into a sump/refugium combo. What did you do with yours? Any tips?
__________________
Only thing more dangerous than a 2nd lieutenant saying "In my experience" is a warrant officer saying "Hey guys, check this out!"
zuzecawi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2005, 08:25 PM   #7
AA Team Emeritus
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Chatsworth, GA
Posts: 4,071
Send a message via Yahoo to loganj
The sump and overflow you have listed are not matched. The CPR overflow is rated up to 1600gph and has two 1" drains. The sump only has one 1" drain inlet and doesn't look big enough for that kind of flow anyway. What kind of flow did you want? What pump do you intend to use with this system. It all needs to be balanced as far as flow goes. Overflows typically work best when running close to their rated capacity. The sump needs to be able to handle a little more that you intend to run through it. Also, if you want a refugium, you can buy a sump that is designed to work as a fuge.
__________________
Life is not measured by the number of breaths we take, but by the moments that take our breath away.
Logan J
loganj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2005, 08:37 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Huntsville AL
Posts: 21
I don't have a pump yet. Any recommendations?

Also, I am still a little confused about how I get the water from the tank to the sump. My tank is not pre-drilled. Is there something better than a Siphon Overflow? I am reading that they are loud - is that true (can it be prevented)? Do i need more than one (as mentioned in one of the links that cmor1701d
suggested).

Thanks
__________________
patriotman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2005, 08:50 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Rocky Mount VA
Posts: 943
I used a regular U tube Overflow and silenced it with the directions from the attached link

http://mywebpages.comcast.net/domitr...struction.html
__________________
Vote for AquariumAdvice

28gal bowfront
40lbs livesand(bag from LFS), 30lbs live rock(LR.com)
2 O. Clowns
1 peppermint shrimp, 5 red leg hermit crabs,
4 mexican turbo snails, 15 nassarius snails
ricordea mushroom, candy cane coral,
super color polyps, hairy mushrooms
bubble coral, hawiian feather duster
coralife lunar 2x65, HOT magnum canister
10 Gal refugium(chaeto) & seaclone skimmer
RMPD109 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2005, 11:24 PM   #10
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Toledo, OH
Posts: 301
Send a message via AIM to Jonathan G.
i dont mind the sound of the water, i didnt like the sound of my pumps so i got the quiet one 3000
__________________

__________________
Jonathan G. is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
sump

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
lost my tank, but back at it now! sump or no sump lower11 Saltwater Reef Aquaria 9 07-10-2007 03:35 PM
Pro Clear Sump - How to put heater in sump & Questions.. TheChad Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 6 04-14-2006 07:39 PM
adding another sump onto my original sump bingbat General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 0 01-15-2005 01:00 AM
Freshwater Kits and Saltwater Kits the same??! Xhilr8 Saltwater Reef Aquaria 2 04-05-2004 11:25 AM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:47 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.