Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 10-08-2012, 01:34 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Rich42082's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 527
Sump leak help..

I can't figure out how to fix this problem. I have a 30 gallon sump that gets all the inside of my stand wet. I thought I had a leak but its not leaking anywhere. When I keep my stand doors open I don't have this problem. If I keep the doors closed everything gets wet including my power supply. Has anyone else had this problem?
__________________

__________________
Rich42082 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2012, 01:38 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Dano.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Indiana
Posts: 161
Can you send some pictures of the setup?
__________________

__________________
DanO
Dano. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2012, 02:50 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Rich42082's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 527
Click image for larger version

Name:	image-1205099612.jpg
Views:	70
Size:	120.9 KB
ID:	123568

This is my drain / first chamber / protein skimmer. This is where most of the inside if the stand gets wet.



Click image for larger version

Name:	image-1512089584.jpg
Views:	73
Size:	113.7 KB
ID:	123570

This is the second chamber / refugium.



Click image for larger version

Name:	image-3444189940.jpg
Views:	67
Size:	89.9 KB
ID:	123571

Last chamber.
__________________
Rich42082 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2012, 03:12 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Readingexcalibur's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Las Vegas
Posts: 1,305
Is this a recent problem? Judging by the rust on the lamp, your refugium has been up and running for a while. If you have a small leak, it has been my experience that salt creep will lead you too the culprate. This sound more like an evaporation issue or possible the fan is blowing water out. Also, it looks like your power strip/timer is on top. Is that getting wet?

edit: just remembered, the rubber gasket on my phosban 150 started leaking once. It caused everything on the floor level in my stand to get damp. I now choose to run my phosban from within my sump, however, i can see you do not have that kind of room!
__________________
"When you're down by the sea and an eel bites your knee... That's a Moray"
Readingexcalibur is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2012, 03:28 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Rich42082's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 527
Yes my power strip is getting wet. I also believe its an evaporation problem. I just don't know how to fix it. The right side if my stand stays pretty dry for the most part so the evaporation is mostly from my first chamber where my skimmer is.
__________________
Rich42082 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2012, 03:50 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Gregcoyote's Avatar



Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Columbia, Missouri
Posts: 8,321
I would solve this quickly, the wet power strip is a accident waiting to happen.
It sounds like skimmer exhaust. Is this cabinet vented? If not, I would add some nice vents and even a small fan. That should cure the buildup of moisture problem.

Think what that skimmer does, it produces wet foam. That foam disintegrates into very moist air and exits the skimmer. In a closed cabinet, that air gets recycled and picks up even more moisture each time thru the skimmer.
__________________
Gregcoyote is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2012, 04:00 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Readingexcalibur's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Las Vegas
Posts: 1,305
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rich42082 View Post
Yes my power strip is getting wet. I also believe its an evaporation problem. I just don't know how to fix it. The right side if my stand stays pretty dry for the most part so the evaporation is mostly from my first chamber where my skimmer is.
I am going to agree with Gregcoyote. If your power strip is getting wet, then it is more than likely not a leak. Either your skimmer is creating wet exhaust, or your fan is. If your stand stays dry with the door open, i also second adding vents. However, be-careful not to drill or cut any stress points on your stand.

It is better to go this route rather than picking up mold or rot damage.
__________________
"When you're down by the sea and an eel bites your knee... That's a Moray"
Readingexcalibur is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2012, 04:05 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Rich42082's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 527
The stand only has two small holes to let the power cables in. It's not vented and I do have a small fan. How would you add some vents? Do I cut some holes through the stand?
__________________
Rich42082 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2012, 04:18 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Readingexcalibur's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Las Vegas
Posts: 1,305
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rich42082 View Post
The stand only has two small holes to let the power cables in. It's not vented and I do have a small fan. How would you add some vents? Do I cut some holes through the stand?
Yes, again, i cant stress this enough. DO NOT CUT into the stress points. You do not want to chance buckling the stand. It would be best to remove the aquarium before you cut.
__________________
"When you're down by the sea and an eel bites your knee... That's a Moray"
Readingexcalibur is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2012, 04:21 PM   #10
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Gregcoyote's Avatar



Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Columbia, Missouri
Posts: 8,321
If the stand is sheeted with plywood, it is a simple process of buying some nice vent covers (in wood?) at the local hardware store. They come in all sizes and colors. Just be sure when making the vent holes to not hit any supports that bear the weight of the tank. You can do this with a hole saw and make either one large hole, or several smaller ones that the vent cover will hide. One this is done, a small fan can circulate the air and keep the moisture level down.

Even better, put the vents in the doors, they bear no weight and can be removed for the installation.

Send us some pictures before you cut the holes.
__________________

__________________
Gregcoyote is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
leak, sump

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:17 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.