Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 08-13-2013, 12:03 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Newbie
 
nbologna12's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 6
Sump or cascade 1000 filter

Trying to decide if I want to use a sump or my cascade filter on my 55gal saltwater reef set up.
Opinions......?
__________________

__________________
nbologna12 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2013, 04:46 AM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Mebbid's Avatar



POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Michigan USA
Posts: 12,569
I would use a sump / refugium in a heartbeat. Especially if it's going to be a reef. It is a bit more pricey to do but offers way more benefits in the long run, especially if you plan on growing any macro algae in it.
__________________

__________________
"The simplest explanation for some phenomenon is more likely to be accurate than more complicated explanations." -Occam's razor
Mebbid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2013, 06:08 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
woody390's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 1,041
Always a sump in my opinion or could always do both lol
__________________
woody390 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2013, 07:18 AM   #4
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 28
Sump no question
__________________
Andy71uk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2013, 10:29 AM   #5
Aquarium Advice Newbie
 
nbologna12's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 6
What's the benefit of the macro algae? I know I want to get a mandarin goby and guess the sump is a good place to grow the pod population.
__________________
nbologna12 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2013, 10:37 AM   #6
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
woody390's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 1,041
Yeah the sump will provide an area with no predators for the pods for them to breed. The macro algae will grow and will use nutrients from the water to grow so will reduce the nutrients in the water as long as you trim the excess macro algae.
__________________
woody390 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2013, 01:05 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Mebbid's Avatar



POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Michigan USA
Posts: 12,569
+1

It also increases the volume of the tank giving you safer water parameters as well as a place to keep all the tank equipment out of sight.
__________________

__________________
"The simplest explanation for some phenomenon is more likely to be accurate than more complicated explanations." -Occam's razor
Mebbid is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:58 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.