Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Old 03-10-2013, 11:45 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Freak

I've been running a sump for about 8 months with only a couple .of hickups early on. I've notices recently that I'm getting very poor flow from my overflow box (hob) to my sump. I have to keep throttling back my return pump, more and more.
Is it comon to have to clean your hoses or replace them? If so how often? Are my problems bigger than I believe they are? Has anyone run into something similar?
Ps - its not a snail or anything like that, I built an overflow silencer which basically doesn't allow anything smaller than 3/32 into it. Well I hope.its not a snail

Old 03-11-2013, 03:21 AM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict

I only get algae in 2 places in my entire system now. The sump grows chaeto algae like mad and my corner overflow gets hair algae. It restricts one of my 2 overflow pipes , but as I have a dual drain pipe system it's no problem.
Id bet you are getting algae in your drain as well. any chance of covering it so light doesn't get in there?

Old 03-11-2013, 04:07 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice FINatic

my hob overflow started getting slow recently and with it's design there's really no way to clean the inside which was getting choked with algae, my cheap solution was to put duct tape over the area with the most light and heaviest growth it took less than a week to start skimming surface film again and is getting better flow everyday
Old 03-11-2013, 09:13 AM   #4
Aquarium Advice Freak

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ingy View Post
I only get algae in 2 places in my entire system now. The sump grows chaeto algae like mad and my corner overflow gets hair algae. It restricts one of my 2 overflow pipes , but as I have a dual drain pipe system it's no problem.